Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Delicious filling however I would use only three apples next time plus cut the sugar accordingly. Mine looked messy since I didn't neatly trim the pastry once I rolled it ourt so I would do that next time too. DEFINITELY use egg wash (1 egg beaten with small amount of water). Brush this on before baking for a flaky crust finish. Otherwise, delicious and a nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the absolute best. I cant say anything bad about this recipe!!! Happy that I found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
So very good! Thanks. The only thing I changed is that I used red sweet apples so I didn't have to put so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Super easy and came out just like the store bought (in a tube) variety except much tastier! One thing I recommend is to add half the sugar and taste before adding the rest---you might prefer it less sweet (my family did). Especially important if using less tart apples. Also, the recipe says to let the filling "cool slightly" before using. I only let it cool about 6 minutes and the heat of the filling caused the puff pastry dough to thin considerably and leak on the bottom of the first few turnovers I made. In future, I will let the filling cool quite a bit more before filling. I noticed one reviewer complaining the filling was not thick enough. This can happen if the apple variety you use is juicier than normal or if you cook a bit too long(so more liquid produced). Not a problem, just add another tablespoon of cornstarch (mixed with a bit of water first, as the recipe says). I did this and it thickened just fine. Alternatively, you can just spoon up the apples with a slotted spoon and use the liquid for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My turnovers were amazing!!!! Of course I through my own twist on them. I made 2 different kinds. I added golden raisins in my apple mixture, then my other was a strawberry rhubarb turnover....TOO DIE FOR......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamia Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
As my first attempt at apple turnover this was a great, easy to follow recipe. The only issue I ran into at all was a little hard to close the edges of the pastry crust. Super easy though and tasted delicious! Will certainly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I love the turn overs I had to hide them form the family so they would last. I made my own flaky crust. Awesome treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great Apple Filling Recipe and I used Cortland Apples. I used Pillsbury Crescent Seamless Dough Sheets and shaped them as Turnovers and Popovers. I then brushed them with the Egg Wash and sprinkled Sugar. You will need to adjust your Oven Temperature, to 375 Degrees, and only Cook them for 10-13 Minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
These came out great. The crust is very flaky. I cut the recipe in half and just made 4. I didn't bother with soaking the apples first and I also served them plain without the glaze. They were still plenty sweet without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Joseph
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
We used fresh apples we picked the day before to make these turnovers. They were excellent, not too sweet, not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States