Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Awesome!! Remember to serve warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayson E Atkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Excellent, easy recipe. Made as written except for 3 minor changes. Used 2 Gala and 2 granny Smith Apples, and it worked well.also added a teensy dash of almond extract. I also did an egg wash to seal and brush on top. This produced an extremely tasty, golden, crispy turnover. Definite keeper! Note on portions: go ahead and stuff all the filling into the turnovers and use fork tines to seal. It may seep out the edges during making, but had no effect on the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Excellent! especially for fall! I admit that I too skipped the lemon bath, if you plan out all the things you need before hand and have all ready .. then peel and slice your apples, (or for those who really don't have the time to peel, core and slice - use canned! - without the syrup/liquid - reserve for a topping on ice cream with your turnovers) they don't have enough time to get that brown color. This recipe is really marvelous, but like probably a lot of us, I didnt have puff pastry in the house.. and I usually don't. It's a bit expensive too. I'll buy it only for major holidays but mostly I make it myself- there is a really good substitute - try Puff Pastry by Phaylock here on this site, it's soooo easy and way less expensive or try using the canned crescent rolls, roll out two together into a square joining them and then after filling fold from two corners into triangle. you can then decorate your edge... i do use a fork sometimes, but you can try other things to get a decorative edge, the flat of a knife or a bottle cap... This is a wonderful recipe and I'll make this again and again I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very good filling. I found it to be very versatile as well. I didn't have all the ingredients so i had to modify quite a bit. I had run out of brown sugar so i used white instead (reduced the amount considerably). Also i did not have cornstarch so i used custard powder. I will make this version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I think this was pretty good. I used Early Gold and zestar apples. I also used my own butter pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loon Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I would give this more than 5 stars if I could. The only difference is I used 7 apples because mine were kind of small (off my tree). I also did not do the lemon juice water soak. But these were the best turnovers I ever ate. Better than any bakery I've ever had. Absolutely delicious. I also did not glaze, sweet enough on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
A great recipe!! I like to add the left over sauce from the pan to the glaze. It gives it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Turned out well. Used pepperidge farm pastry which was perfect. Granny smith apples were a bit tart. Didn't care for the sugar drizzle. Others in my family liked it. Overall, very tasty and I'll make it again. Next time I'll cube the apples rather than slice them so they are easier to stuff in the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Messy recipe but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Crazy easy to make, and you end up looking like a baking genius. (Thank you, puff pastry!) I use a variety of apples, and I don't bother with the lemon bath because I'm cooking the apples down and they turn beautifully brown anyway. Next time, I'm going to experiment with cutting the puff pastry smaller to make fun-size pastry bites for a cider-pressing party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States