Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Excellent! Made these for my hubby's bday instead of cake. .I used the egg wash and added vanilla extract to apples. Had some apples left over would go great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was very good, tastes as good as anything I've purchased and so easy to make. I made the apples for another dish, then took the leftover and put it in the puff pastry for a great dessert. You really only need about 1/4 cup of apple for each turnover, so you may not need as many apple depending on their size. Easy to make just a couple or more or just bake as you need them. I didn't find that you needed an egg wash, The glaze is the kicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Delicious, and looks and tastes professional. My first time making a turnover. I used 3/4 cup sugar, and cut the apples very small, as suggested. I brushed with an egg white. I used the icing glaze, and that makes it look professional. But next time I might skip the white icing because I feel like it makes it too sweet. Really good! Even my husband is asking me how I made it. Seems like he wants to make it himself?? Lol. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was great! I did add everything all at once and an extra tablespoon of cornstarch just in case. Had 3/8 turnovers leak out even though I crimped both sides with a fork. No big deal. Easy and lived the flavor. Lastly, I added about 1 T of light corn syrup for the glaze since 1 T milk wasn't sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have been making this recipe for awhile now, but am just getting around to reviewing it. My family loves these but we find ourselves fighting over them and they never last a full day. I have it down to a science now so they are really quite quick and easy. I find that by actually cutting the apple mixture recipe in half, it is enough filling for 8 of the turnovers, but extra never hurts either! The only thing I do extra is add a dash of nutmeg or sometimes allspice. The eggwash before baking is a must for a beautiful golden color. I skip the glaze also because I find they are sweet enough with the egg wash and a sprinkle of sugar on top. This recipe stays bookmarked for me and you must try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reb
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great base to get creative with -Thank You ! I added some nuts, cranberries with a little sweetened cream cheese with holiday spices in filling and a cream cheese - powdered sugar drizzle on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Delicious filling however I would use only three apples next time plus cut the sugar accordingly. Mine looked messy since I didn't neatly trim the pastry once I rolled it ourt so I would do that next time too. DEFINITELY use egg wash (1 egg beaten with small amount of water). Brush this on before baking for a flaky crust finish. Otherwise, delicious and a nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the absolute best. I cant say anything bad about this recipe!!! Happy that I found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
So very good! Thanks. The only thing I changed is that I used red sweet apples so I didn't have to put so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Super easy and came out just like the store bought (in a tube) variety except much tastier! One thing I recommend is to add half the sugar and taste before adding the rest---you might prefer it less sweet (my family did). Especially important if using less tart apples. Also, the recipe says to let the filling "cool slightly" before using. I only let it cool about 6 minutes and the heat of the filling caused the puff pastry dough to thin considerably and leak on the bottom of the first few turnovers I made. In future, I will let the filling cool quite a bit more before filling. I noticed one reviewer complaining the filling was not thick enough. This can happen if the apple variety you use is juicier than normal or if you cook a bit too long(so more liquid produced). Not a problem, just add another tablespoon of cornstarch (mixed with a bit of water first, as the recipe says). I did this and it thickened just fine. Alternatively, you can just spoon up the apples with a slotted spoon and use the liquid for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States