Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rica
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! I had left over sauce from the apple mixture so I drizzled it on top of the turnovers instead of the icing mixture and it tasted even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
My main difficulty with these was that the apples made a ton of very liquid sauce that even extra cornstarch and some flour couldn't thicken. I decided to leave most of it out of the turnovers (it would have been quite a mess) and reduce it more over the stove to make a syrup for pancakes. Delicious! Also sort of annoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Awesome, used cherries. House smelled like a bakery! Peach next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
LOVED the filling. However, I had trouble with it leaking out and burning on the bottom of the turnover. I even used the fork trying to seal them better. Didn't really care for the glaze. If I make them again, I'll just leave it off. Definitely need the egg wash if you want them to look shiny like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was amazing - better than I ever could have guessed it would be. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
DEFINITELY A KEEPER! Easy and looks like it came from the bakery. Small cube apples vs slicing them. Omit soaking in lemon water. Make sure they are cooled before filling in pastry. I tried smaller ones and folded them to look like rectangle vs triangle shape and also tried the bigger piece making it into a triangle. Both are great, husband prefers larger pieces. With the smaller ones I used rolling pin to to make a little larger to hold filling. I omitted glaze and put egg wash on each piece and sprinkled with sugar. Basically, all the suggestions of former reviews. Sure helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent!! I put cream cheese in the glaze....awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Yummy, but mess to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raising24God

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great recipe! Following the advice of others, here are the changes to the original recipe 1. Used only 2 good-size apples 2.Chopped apples in smaller pieces. 3. Reduced brown sugar to half cup, and added a sprinkle of freshly grated nutmeg. 4. Cooked apples for about 10 minutes. 5. Let apple mixture cool, before making the turnovers 6.Do not worry about making perfect squares, triangles, or if edges do not seal completely. 7. Brush with egg wash (one egg+1 tablespoon water- beat until well mixed. 7. Line baking sheet with non-stick aluminum paper. 8. Baked for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
very little flavor and too wet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States