Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joseph
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
We used fresh apples we picked the day before to make these turnovers. They were excellent, not too sweet, not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
They turned out wonderful! I also added a handful of sultanas to the apple filling - delicious! I wound definitely recommend making them with the glaze - it just elevates the recipe to the new level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
They where so tasty. Didn't change anything. Excellent quick treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Smits

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenP
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Love this! Used puff pastry shells instead and filled with the apple filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Great tasting pastry and the frosting is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Awesome!! Remember to serve warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayson E Atkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Excellent, easy recipe. Made as written except for 3 minor changes. Used 2 Gala and 2 granny Smith Apples, and it worked well.also added a teensy dash of almond extract. I also did an egg wash to seal and brush on top. This produced an extremely tasty, golden, crispy turnover. Definite keeper! Note on portions: go ahead and stuff all the filling into the turnovers and use fork tines to seal. It may seep out the edges during making, but had no effect on the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Excellent! especially for fall! I admit that I too skipped the lemon bath, if you plan out all the things you need before hand and have all ready .. then peel and slice your apples, (or for those who really don't have the time to peel, core and slice - use canned! - without the syrup/liquid - reserve for a topping on ice cream with your turnovers) they don't have enough time to get that brown color. This recipe is really marvelous, but like probably a lot of us, I didnt have puff pastry in the house.. and I usually don't. It's a bit expensive too. I'll buy it only for major holidays but mostly I make it myself- there is a really good substitute - try Puff Pastry by Phaylock here on this site, it's soooo easy and way less expensive or try using the canned crescent rolls, roll out two together into a square joining them and then after filling fold from two corners into triangle. you can then decorate your edge... i do use a fork sometimes, but you can try other things to get a decorative edge, the flat of a knife or a bottle cap... This is a wonderful recipe and I'll make this again and again I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very good filling. I found it to be very versatile as well. I didn't have all the ingredients so i had to modify quite a bit. I had run out of brown sugar so i used white instead (reduced the amount considerably). Also i did not have cornstarch so i used custard powder. I will make this version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I think this was pretty good. I used Early Gold and zestar apples. I also used my own butter pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loon Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States