Apple Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is great for an easy, quick and delicious snack. I used whole grain bread that I toasted first and light butter. I also used cinnamon sugar vs. just cinnamon. I love apples and this really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I didn't have to add sugar, like other people suggested, but different kinds of apples have different sugar levels. I used Gala apples. I didn't measure the cinnamon, just kind of sprinkled it on for a dusting. I'm going to try toasting the bread lightly first, then doing everything else. The bread under the apples was a bit soggy. Overall it was enjoyable, easy and fast, which is great for when you're really hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Used cinnamon sugar and toasted both sides. Toast one side then flip and put on the apple slices and toast the 2nd side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This recipe was a hit with my family. I did take the suggestions to add a touch of brown sugar to the bread before adding the apples but I think it would have been fine without it since I used raisin cinnamon bread which was sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was not good; it was soggy until I first toasted the bread. Then the kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My kids loved the Apple Toast! I did not think it would be such a hit for something so simple. The only thing I did differently to add some protein is spread peanut butter or almond butter instead of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this as a nutrition project for the kids in my preschool class. We used whole wheat bread and did not add any glaze. The kids all loved it and they each made their own so it was a great experience for them! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Oh Yum...I'm not a big apple eater, but this will make me one. This is delish. I put a thin layer of brown sugar on top of the butter(toasted bread) then the apple, then a bit of brown sugar and apple pie spice. Excellent. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Was great and fast and easy!!! We added suger not just cinnamon.It was crunchy and full of flavor!!!!!!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
As another reviewer mentioned, I think subbing the butter out for almond butter (or peanut butter) would be just as tasty and you'd get the extra "oomph" of protein and good fats. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallybranwyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States