Apple Stuffed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. I wouldnt' follow the directions completely. The thing I did different was...Not to add so much bread crumbs (It makes it to dry and crumy). Add half then what it says to and replace it with more apples. I also took apple sauce and mixed it with water and poured that ontop of the dish before I put it into the oven. Just so it wouldnt be so dry. Over all it was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Great1 After reading 6 reviews I cut way back on bread ( actually I used Pepperidge farms stuffing ) wrapped in in prosciutto which helped hold in the stuffing and added a saltyness. My wife wanted to know if I made any extra. Must have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEDDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These were fantastic! I have never made anything like these before, and I was a little nervous. They went together so easily and turned out wonderful. My family (who are very skeptical to try anything new) loved these. I followed the advice of another reviewer and only used 1 cup of bread crumbs, and after I started making them I realized that I was out of fresh celery. I replaced the regular salt with celery salt and it worked just fine. Super recipe.. will for sure be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I modified recipe a bit to cater to gluten-free plus heart healthy diet needs. I used olive oil in place of butter and vegetable oil. I used GF Raisin Bread (does not have cinnamon). Since other reviews stated recipe was bit dry, and I had no apple juice as was suggested, I used Cherry Ginger Brew (22% ginger). The combination of flavors was fabulous, like a gourmet dish, with the bonus of being GF and loaded with hearth healthy ingredients. Thanks for the basic recipe. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I liked this recipe a lot. My family wasn't as happy as I was. They prefer more traditional stuffing. I think I will keep making and they will come around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was delicious. I did alter it slightly and used three golden delicious apples and steamed them and then made and apple sauce, I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and then transfered it to a skillet where I had fried 1 red diced onion in a tablespoon of butterand added 2 cups of dry breadcrumbs. I then stuffed 4 pork chops with the stuffing, fried them as above but then baked for 20 minutes with foil and 20 without! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hornchurch, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I made this for my husband's birthday and my family absolutely loved it. I made extra bread crumb mix with extra apples and used it as a side with the chops. I will defintely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
First I raised the oven temp by about 15° and baked for only about 35-40 minutes. Some reviewers had issues with the flavor - apples that best retain flavor during cooking are usually the crisp, green variety, such as Granny Smith. The stuffing was pretty dry in the beginning. Adding about 2/3 cup green apple-pear juice made it moist enough. There was more stuffing than could fit into the chops so it just went into the baking dish too. No celery since I didn't have any...this was very good. With the changes I give this 4 stars, 3 without. Husband liked it too. Thank you for this simple, flavorful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipe was so tasty! I used pumpernickle and rye bread because I didn't have white bread available- that kicked up the flavor of the stuffing just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a great recipe! It was a hit with my company. I had no fresh bread crumbs, so used plain dried bread crumbs, but only 2/3 cup instead of 3. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States