Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I also am a bachelor, and I'm really new at this cooking thing. I'll have to say, however, that all the recipes that I've gotten off this web-site have made me feel like I could cook. Except this one. After having read all the review, I have decided that I must have done something terribly wrong. The chicken was dry, would have been tasteless had it not been for the oregano in the Italian bread crumbs. Ugh, not a huge fan of oregano. Could not even taste my Granny Smith's or the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I listened to most of the reviewers, and added 1 T cinnamon, 1 T brown sugar, and a handful of Craisins. I used chicken broth instead of wine/water, and it added more flavor. I was nervous about the cheese/apple combo, but you couldn't even tell there was cheese in there! It was sooooo amazing. I made it with stuffing and corn on the cob, and it was such a great Fall dinner! Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
It was very dry and bland. The stuffing was not enough to get a taste. I found lacking in all areas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was excellent and easy. I would rather use twine than toothpicks. And, I would add a little crunch factor in the stuffing, like crushed pecans or chopped walnuts. Overall, simple and easy for a party or catering, since you simmer for 25 min. My husband said it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I simply wanted to suggest that toothpicks don't help alot but I found that old fashioned string made a huge difference in holding all ingredients within and allowing cooking do it's job without the prickly toothpicks. The strings are cut off prior to serving and all looks magnificent. Bon appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This dish is great!! easy to make. My family loved it! I will be making this agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
It was meh. I need to tinker with the recipe. Kind of tasted like Thanksgiving dinner but not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this for dinner lastnight and it was wonderful! I did make a few minor adjustments though. Based on the reviews I thought it would be a bit bland for my family so I added about a Tbsp of minced onion & about a tsp of each of the following: cinnamon, chili powder, poultry seasoning, brown sugar and season salt. Sprinkled that on both sides of the chicken BEFORE stuffing & AFTER stuffing I dredged the chicken in egg and rolled in bread crumbs so it had a nice crispy coating . I then baked it at 375F for about 35 min & it was awesome! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My Husband made this for me for my birthday and we loved it, especially the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Fabuous recipe with a wonderful combination of flavors! I swear you could put just about anything rolled up inside a chicken breast and it's bound to be good. The combination of sweet apple and sharp cheddar was definitely an indicator that this was going to be tasty so I had to give this a try and boy am I glad I did! However, I did make a couple of changes... After I pounded my chicken breasts down thin I used bread cubes vs. Italian bread crumbs for the stuffing. I combined the dried bread cubes with the apple and some curry powder, brown sugar and a little salt. I moistened the stuffing with some apple juice. I used sliced sharp cheddar cheese then place the stuffing over top and rolled it together securing with toothpicks. Half I did with the apple stuffing and cheese the other half I did with apple stuffing, cheese and of course - bacon! I dipped the chicken in egg and then plain bread crumbs to form a light coating. I then drizzled it with a little melted butter and baked at 375 for 35 - 40 mintues. For the sauce I used apple juice vs. water and a mild white wine. I added a little poultry seasoning for flavor and added a splash of cream. The result was a very moist and flavorful chicken bursting with a delicious apple stuffing and cheese filling! You could easily do without the sauce and it was hard to tell which we liked the ones with bacon or the ones without...either way this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States