Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I made this recipe from the Allrecipes magazine, meaning AR has added some tweaks and there were only 3 reviews to read. So with that said, this didn't come out very great. It was tender and juicy, but as per the magazine, 6 minutes of browning total was insufficient, and the stuffing was bland. Lack of adequate browning also led to a weird sauce, basically slurried up watery wine. Meh. I would encourage you to heed the advice of those here who suggest browning it beautifully before moving on to the next steps, seasoning the filling heavily (and maybe adding more cheese, the sharpest you can find), and seasoning the outside heavily. I'll probably try this again though I'm considering breading and baking it after rolling. I use twine to tie off my rolled meats, it just works better for me than toothpicks, though it leaves a twine-shaped impression in the end product which isn't as beautiful as the way toothpicks get the job done. This has the potential to be an appley, cheesy treat, but it isn't there yet even on the site with the tweaks from other users and certainly not there yet in the magazine. Please heed the tweaks of others before spending a lot of time on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Great. Instead of breasts we used tenderlions and layered it in a smaller pot after browning. Worked great. Agree I would use chicken broth instead of water next time and twice as many apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Three stars for flavor, fourth added for ease. This was okay, but not spectacular. It was missing something, and I can't put my finger on what it could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I tried this recipe tonight and the family loved it I did add some brown sugar, pecans, more cheddar cheese and cinnamon to my recipe, however, it was good but next time I will add some craisins as well to the recipe and then it will be just right. the family also said YES to craisins as well, it would give it what it is missing. the glaze was good too.. I will make this again. tx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Johnson Clevenger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manahawkin, New Jersey, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Great chicken, fairly easy recipe. Apple was not the strongest flavor for us, the Italian seasoning was more prevalent, but juicy delicious chicken regardless. My breasts were tiny so I used three and still couldn't fit all the filling in them. The gravy was lovely. Thanks Behr for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Good recipe. Listen to the person in the first comment about adding a few things though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Deerwester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
lacked flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Absolutely a great recipe! Followed a few of the previous reviewers' suggestions and added additional seasonings. Rolling was difficult, but manageable. I will butterfly the chicken breasts next time to save time. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaufflin
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
One of the best dishes I've made from this app! I did make some changes--for the stuffing I used apple, brown sugar, cinnamon, plain bread crumbs, and blue cheese. I had extra stuffing and apple chunks that I added to the juices to simmer for about 5-10 min. That thickened it up enough that I didn't need to add the cornstarch. I also substituted the water with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
In apple mixture I added a bit more cheese and lots more breadcrumbs with a bit of cinnamon and brown sugar. While chicken was cooking I added more apples and than when chicken was done I added a bit brown sugar to juices and than poured it over the chicken. With these changes it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States