Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I thought this was a great starter recipe, somewhere between a three and four. The only problem for me was that I added a fair amount of seasoning to it and it was still a bit bland. Pounded the chicken thin and added a lot of stuffing - gala apples cut rather large so retain some texture (because that was what I had), with shredded parmesan, sauteed onion, cayenne and garlic powder added to the listed ingredients. Browned the chicken rolls in olive oil/butter mix (I didn't use toothpicks, but it was okay). Added poulty seasoning and salt to the outside of the chicken. Used a white wine/apple juice mix for the sauce, with water only for the cornstartch. Put a bit of shredded cheddar on top of the finished rolls, mostly for looks, and then topped with sauce. We really did like this and I appreciate the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFowler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I also am a bachelor, and I'm really new at this cooking thing. I'll have to say, however, that all the recipes that I've gotten off this web-site have made me feel like I could cook. Except this one. After having read all the review, I have decided that I must have done something terribly wrong. The chicken was dry, would have been tasteless had it not been for the oregano in the Italian bread crumbs. Ugh, not a huge fan of oregano. Could not even taste my Granny Smith's or the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I listened to most of the reviewers, and added 1 T cinnamon, 1 T brown sugar, and a handful of Craisins. I used chicken broth instead of wine/water, and it added more flavor. I was nervous about the cheese/apple combo, but you couldn't even tell there was cheese in there! It was sooooo amazing. I made it with stuffing and corn on the cob, and it was such a great Fall dinner! Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
It was very dry and bland. The stuffing was not enough to get a taste. I found lacking in all areas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was excellent and easy. I would rather use twine than toothpicks. And, I would add a little crunch factor in the stuffing, like crushed pecans or chopped walnuts. Overall, simple and easy for a party or catering, since you simmer for 25 min. My husband said it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I simply wanted to suggest that toothpicks don't help alot but I found that old fashioned string made a huge difference in holding all ingredients within and allowing cooking do it's job without the prickly toothpicks. The strings are cut off prior to serving and all looks magnificent. Bon appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This dish is great!! easy to make. My family loved it! I will be making this agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
It was meh. I need to tinker with the recipe. Kind of tasted like Thanksgiving dinner but not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this for dinner lastnight and it was wonderful! I did make a few minor adjustments though. Based on the reviews I thought it would be a bit bland for my family so I added about a Tbsp of minced onion & about a tsp of each of the following: cinnamon, chili powder, poultry seasoning, brown sugar and season salt. Sprinkled that on both sides of the chicken BEFORE stuffing & AFTER stuffing I dredged the chicken in egg and rolled in bread crumbs so it had a nice crispy coating . I then baked it at 375F for about 35 min & it was awesome! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My Husband made this for me for my birthday and we loved it, especially the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States