Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe! My husband and I love it! The only change I'm going to make next time is, instead of pounding and rolling up the chicken breast, I'm going to butterfly them and stuff them. The apple chunks made it difficult to roll and I had to use way too many toothpicks to keep them together. But, paired with a sweet potato or a corn casserole, this is a perfect, healthy fall dish! It's a good base recipe, too. Feel free to season it however you wish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly_leigh82

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Excellent and easy. I did however add spices (cinnamon, nutmeg and thyme). I usually change spices in most recipes to suit the my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Great recipe! After reading others' reviews, I added just a touch of all spice, a bit of garlic powder and used chicken broth instead of water in the sauce. I quadrupled the wine and the chicken broth. Also, threw the excess apple mixture in at the end. Wine was sauvignon blanc and apple was granny smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is a good base but "not quite there" as it is still a bit bland. On one hand I can see where the other posters added some herbs to it....in many cases quite a few of them. My problem with their reviews is that they gave it 4 or 5 stars but what they have in the end is nowhere close to the posted recipe. What you now have is herb chicken, not apple chicken....not the same thing at all. I did find the need to add something to jazz it up but didn't want to stray too far from the original recipe and totally change it into something else either: Instead of half water and half wine I changed it to all wine, added 1/8 tsp of cinnamon to compliment the apples, doubled the cheddar for more flavor and added 1/2 tsp of bullion base to the sauce.The next time I made this I sprinkled the chicken with salt and pepper first. That helped a LOT! It really does need the s and p.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
great dish. made changes after reading other reviews. used allspice, cinnamon, and some dark brown sugar. also used apple juice instead of the wine. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Ingram

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I added the spices as suggested, used chicken broth instead of water ad doubled the liquids. Absolutely awesome meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I didn't care for this recipe at all, but my husband thought it was very good. I added the curry as suggested, and didn't care for the combination with the apples. I guess it's a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mavis Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
have never flattened chicken before, so this was an experience. I used a pink lady apple, added about a quarter of a vidalia onion chopped up, and used plain bread crumbs with Italian seasoning (what I had available.) Also, used chicken broth instead of wine and water (again, available.) Hubby didn't love the onions, but dd and I were squabbling over the stuffing mix that didn't make it into the chicken breasts - delicious!! I served with rice cooked in chicken broth. Oh, made one of the three chicken breasts without the apple in the stuffing (picky eater) and she said that was delicious, too. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Thank you, this made an easy Tuesday night dinner i used chicken stock as opposed to wine and just seasoned the chicken lightly with a sprinkle of pepper. I loved the uncomplicated flavours it was really great and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was excellent; however, I did make several additions / changes per other reviewers suggestions. I added 1/4t allspice, 3/4t sage, 3/4t thyme to the stuffing and increased the cheese to 1/4C. I deglazed the pan with wine and chicken broth (salt +pepper) after browning the chicken, added the chicken back to the pan, covered it and baked it in a pre-heated oven (325) for ~15-20 minutes. Excellent flavors with minor additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States