Apple Stuff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by eileen C
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Didn't have regular Jello, had to use no sugar. Took advise of reviewers and increased flour for crumbs but decreased sugar. Didn't have strawberry Jello only had cranberry, so I used that and added dried cranberries to my apples. My hubby loved it... Even with using cranberry Jello , he thought there were strawberries in it! Added cinnamon to the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
We thought this was alright. The jell-o taste is very strong. I think it needs more topping, and half brown sugar would probably help the flavor. It's good if you have some tasteless apples to use up because the jell-o adds so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by tina
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
LOVE....LOVE......LOVE it!!!!!! I didn't have the flour so I used 1 box yellow cake mix with pudding 1 cup sugar and 1 cup of butter!!!! AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I chose this recipe based on the reviews and YES it is great! My family loved it! I had bought a 3lb bag of bland Red Delicious apples and didn't want them to go to waste so I searched this site for something to do with them. Perfect! I suggest this for potluck dinners and special events. It makes a lot and is very sweet. Too big of a dessert for a family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe is really easy and good. However, the recipe needs some doctoring. I used the sugar free strawberry-banana jello, but I didn't really taste it. it gave the dessert a nice color, though. Also, I added a pinch of nutmeg and 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the topping. As well, I split the sugar into 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. Both of those were on the advice of other reviewers. Also, FYI, I used slightly tart yellow apples. And i left the peel on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I made this recipe for a church gathering this afternoon. It got absolute raves! I did alter it a bit...I took reviewers advice for more topping and added 1/2 cup more flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar and a few tablespoons more butter to the crumb topping and it was perfect! I also threw in about a cup of rhubarb I had in my freezer and some cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg on top of the apple/rhubarb mixture. I used very tart apples and that, along with the rhubarb made the amount of sugar in the topping and the gelatin balance out just right. Threw some whipped topping on top and it went up so quick my husband didn't even get any! I definitely will make this again and very soon. Oh yes, I only had one small package of strawberry Kiwi Jello and one small package of Strawberry banana Jello. I was worried about that but you couldn't tell. Most people thought it was all strawberries and rhubarb. They didn't even know it was apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? Rachel Kooistra Floyd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was just ok. It flavored the apples nicely, but I really didn't think it was anything special. I'd much rather have regular apple cobbler, which was what this was close to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Needed something to use up some apples. My boys decided that we should use grape jello. It was very tasty. I don't like it cold. And I would double the topping, it is sooooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Yummy! This is great. Very simple. I substituted brown sugar for the white, and low-fat jello for the regular, and it turned out fine. This tastes like a short bread-based strawberry/jello square that my mom used to make at Christmas time years ago. Thanks for sharing - this is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This recipe was SO simple yet SO delicious!!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States