Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Loved it, I upped the cinnamon to one full tsp. I also sautéed the apples just a bit in the cinnamon, sugar mix with some butter to soften them a bit before putting into the phyllo dough because I used green apples.Oh yeah, I didn't use the bread either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
this was the yummiest recipe, i used this and the result was perfect! i am a working chef and this is by far the best way to make a strudel in my opinion and my customers agree. I tweaked a little but just to suit my needs for customers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Added twice the cinnimon per advice of another user, also used cranberries instead of currants for an american twist. I cut up the apples with a mandolin for thinly sliced apples. Over all good, but could use a little more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
good basic strudel, needs some work. Use clarified butter for a better result, and you didn't need quite so much. Use a pastry brush, it makes a big difference, don't soak the pastry, even when "generous" You'll get a nicer finish at the end. The strudel needed a glaze at the end of baking to look really nice; by itself the strudel looked unfinished, and needed that "extra" touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I hadn't used phyllo dough before so I was a little intimidated but it was fairly simple. The trick is to keep the phyllo layers moist with the butter. When it came out of the oven it was crispy. I covered it with tinfoil to keep it warm and it softened up the dough and was very good with ice cream. My husband isn't a fan of apple pie but he really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I tried this recipe as a 2nd choice... I thought I had puff pastry in the fridge, given to me by my mother... I'd alredy peeled all my apples when I realized it! I didn't have any currants or raisins, and barely anything else to add to my apples besides about 1/4 cup nuts and the sugar, breadcrumbs and cinnamin. First time working with phyllo... Not fun! I don't think I'll do it again soon, but the strudel came out pretty tasty! I did bake it to look more like a tart, since that's what I'd originally wanted to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made the following changes: -I was worried the inside might be a bit dry, so I added 3 TBS of melted syrup to the apple mixture. -I also increased the amount of cinnamon to a full teaspoon, and added 1/4 tsp of allspice to it too. I served it with a cream/caramel mix. it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I have to admit I fiddled with this a bit. I used frozen filo which I sprayed with cooking spray, tinned apples, sultana/currant/raisin mix (mixed fruit with the peel and cherries removed), added 3 tblspns of brown sugar to the mix, used 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp each of ground ginger and nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cloves - and it turned out great! I used butter on the outside sheet and it was golden and lovely. A great basic recipe with plenty of room to manoeuvre. Can't wait to use other fruit, or even veges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Apple, raisins and cinnamon flavour is perfect: definitely a great comfort food! Now, visually, it's another story. And as someone else mentionned, you get phyllo pieces everywhere (except in your mouth) while eating a piece of this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Great base recipe. I modified it according to things I had on hand. I substituted peaches for the apples, whole wheat flour for the bread, added some crystalized ginger, and omitted the currents and raisins. I served this with vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of maple syrup--yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States