Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
this was the yummiest recipe, i used this and the result was perfect! i am a working chef and this is by far the best way to make a strudel in my opinion and my customers agree. I tweaked a little but just to suit my needs for customers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Loved it, I upped the cinnamon to one full tsp. I also sautéed the apples just a bit in the cinnamon, sugar mix with some butter to soften them a bit before putting into the phyllo dough because I used green apples.Oh yeah, I didn't use the bread either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I hadn't used phyllo dough before so I was a little intimidated but it was fairly simple. The trick is to keep the phyllo layers moist with the butter. When it came out of the oven it was crispy. I covered it with tinfoil to keep it warm and it softened up the dough and was very good with ice cream. My husband isn't a fan of apple pie but he really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Apple, raisins and cinnamon flavour is perfect: definitely a great comfort food! Now, visually, it's another story. And as someone else mentionned, you get phyllo pieces everywhere (except in your mouth) while eating a piece of this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Added twice the cinnimon per advice of another user, also used cranberries instead of currants for an american twist. I cut up the apples with a mandolin for thinly sliced apples. Over all good, but could use a little more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Easy to make, impressive to your guests (I sprinkled cinnamon and powdered sugar light across the top), and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Very good and easy to make. I used half the butter than called for, spraying some of the phyllo sheets with a bit of cooking spray instead to keep the sheets from drying out, and preventing greasiness. Most of the butter I used went on the outer layer after rolling up the strudel, which gave it a lovely golden color after baking. I used Gala apples, for a sweet-tart taste, and one half-teaspoon of a blend of cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, ginger, and a touch of cloves. I didn't have golden raisins or currants, so I used half a cup of regular raisins, and it turned out fine. The family really enjoyed it, and have asked for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Very quick and easy. I used cooking spray on the layers of phyllo instead of the 1/4c butter and melted 1T butter to brush on the top. I also sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Good and easy basic strudel, but I think some adjustments have to be done. First of all, I would increase cinnamon to 1 full teaspoon. Then, I might add about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg and/or a dash of ginger or clove powder. Thirdly, I think it might be interesting brushing salted butter between phyllo sheets. Finally, I think it would be a good idea to give the strudel an egg or egg yolk wash before baking. That way, I think it would be close to perfection. Yet, this is a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Great base recipe. I modified it according to things I had on hand. I substituted peaches for the apples, whole wheat flour for the bread, added some crystalized ginger, and omitted the currents and raisins. I served this with vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of maple syrup--yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States