Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This is a little time consuming to put together because of the phyllo dough. I "generously" buttered each phyllo sheet and baked the strudel on a cookie sheet that had no sides. The results were a greasy stove bottom and a greasy strudel. Had a piece of strudel while I cleaned my greasy oven...it was bland. Sorry, but I can't recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Very good and easy to make. I used half the butter than called for, spraying some of the phyllo sheets with a bit of cooking spray instead to keep the sheets from drying out, and preventing greasiness. Most of the butter I used went on the outer layer after rolling up the strudel, which gave it a lovely golden color after baking. I used Gala apples, for a sweet-tart taste, and one half-teaspoon of a blend of cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, ginger, and a touch of cloves. I didn't have golden raisins or currants, so I used half a cup of regular raisins, and it turned out fine. The family really enjoyed it, and have asked for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Very quick and easy. I used cooking spray on the layers of phyllo instead of the 1/4c butter and melted 1T butter to brush on the top. I also sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Easy to make, impressive to your guests (I sprinkled cinnamon and powdered sugar light across the top), and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This recipe was okay, not great and not quite what i had been looking for. From a time and effort standpoint it is quite a bit of work (buttering phyllo, preping apples, etc.) and the results are just kind of bland and generic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Good and easy basic strudel, but I think some adjustments have to be done. First of all, I would increase cinnamon to 1 full teaspoon. Then, I might add about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg and/or a dash of ginger or clove powder. Thirdly, I think it might be interesting brushing salted butter between phyllo sheets. Finally, I think it would be a good idea to give the strudel an egg or egg yolk wash before baking. That way, I think it would be close to perfection. Yet, this is a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I was intrigued by this recipe and decided to try it out. I was really surprised that the end result looked unfinished, and seems to need some kind of glaze to look pretty enough to serve or give to someone. I also expected more punch to the flavor with all the apple, raisins, currants, and spices, but the flavor was very mild. The phyllo was so flaky it was hard to contain and my family got phyllo pieces everywhere. The flavor grew on me though, and it was delightful with an espresso. I think I'll make up some kind of cinnamon glaze, and see if that finishes it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Great base recipe. I modified it according to things I had on hand. I substituted peaches for the apples, whole wheat flour for the bread, added some crystalized ginger, and omitted the currents and raisins. I served this with vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of maple syrup--yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Apple, raisins and cinnamon flavour is perfect: definitely a great comfort food! Now, visually, it's another story. And as someone else mentionned, you get phyllo pieces everywhere (except in your mouth) while eating a piece of this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I have to admit I fiddled with this a bit. I used frozen filo which I sprayed with cooking spray, tinned apples, sultana/currant/raisin mix (mixed fruit with the peel and cherries removed), added 3 tblspns of brown sugar to the mix, used 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp each of ground ginger and nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cloves - and it turned out great! I used butter on the outside sheet and it was golden and lovely. A great basic recipe with plenty of room to manoeuvre. Can't wait to use other fruit, or even veges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States