Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Loved it, I upped the cinnamon to one full tsp. I also sautéed the apples just a bit in the cinnamon, sugar mix with some butter to soften them a bit before putting into the phyllo dough because I used green apples.Oh yeah, I didn't use the bread either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
this was the yummiest recipe, i used this and the result was perfect! i am a working chef and this is by far the best way to make a strudel in my opinion and my customers agree. I tweaked a little but just to suit my needs for customers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Added twice the cinnimon per advice of another user, also used cranberries instead of currants for an american twist. I cut up the apples with a mandolin for thinly sliced apples. Over all good, but could use a little more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
good basic strudel, needs some work. Use clarified butter for a better result, and you didn't need quite so much. Use a pastry brush, it makes a big difference, don't soak the pastry, even when "generous" You'll get a nicer finish at the end. The strudel needed a glaze at the end of baking to look really nice; by itself the strudel looked unfinished, and needed that "extra" touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I hadn't used phyllo dough before so I was a little intimidated but it was fairly simple. The trick is to keep the phyllo layers moist with the butter. When it came out of the oven it was crispy. I covered it with tinfoil to keep it warm and it softened up the dough and was very good with ice cream. My husband isn't a fan of apple pie but he really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I tried this recipe as a 2nd choice... I thought I had puff pastry in the fridge, given to me by my mother... I'd alredy peeled all my apples when I realized it! I didn't have any currants or raisins, and barely anything else to add to my apples besides about 1/4 cup nuts and the sugar, breadcrumbs and cinnamin. First time working with phyllo... Not fun! I don't think I'll do it again soon, but the strudel came out pretty tasty! I did bake it to look more like a tart, since that's what I'd originally wanted to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made the following changes: -I was worried the inside might be a bit dry, so I added 3 TBS of melted syrup to the apple mixture. -I also increased the amount of cinnamon to a full teaspoon, and added 1/4 tsp of allspice to it too. I served it with a cream/caramel mix. it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I have to admit I fiddled with this a bit. I used frozen filo which I sprayed with cooking spray, tinned apples, sultana/currant/raisin mix (mixed fruit with the peel and cherries removed), added 3 tblspns of brown sugar to the mix, used 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp each of ground ginger and nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cloves - and it turned out great! I used butter on the outside sheet and it was golden and lovely. A great basic recipe with plenty of room to manoeuvre. Can't wait to use other fruit, or even veges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Apple, raisins and cinnamon flavour is perfect: definitely a great comfort food! Now, visually, it's another story. And as someone else mentionned, you get phyllo pieces everywhere (except in your mouth) while eating a piece of this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Great base recipe. I modified it according to things I had on hand. I substituted peaches for the apples, whole wheat flour for the bread, added some crystalized ginger, and omitted the currents and raisins. I served this with vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of maple syrup--yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States