Apple Strudel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Thanks for all the reviews; am glad I read them first. As written, this is only about 3 stars(no spice in the batter for an apple muffin?) but with tweaking became a 5 star and they were delicious...so averaged out to 4 stars. I shredded 1 cup of the apple to give more even distribution and add moisture throughout and chopped the 1/2 cup. I also did this first and added the sugar to the apples to help leach out the juice to make the batter not so thick. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg to the batter, and 1/2 cup white, 1/2 cup brown. Used the 1/2 cup butter but also added a couple of heaping tbsp. of applesauce. With that tweaking, just added 1 tsp. vanilla. These made 6 Texas size muffins and baked up like a picture and were very moist. The streusel topping is great and if you mix the flour and brown sugar well before adding the butter, you won't get those clumps of brown sugar that cause 'sinkers'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This is a MUST TRY recipe. Absolutely fabulous. These muffins are so moist, all my cooworkers loved them. So that you do not have to read previous reviewers, these are the most suggested changes to rec, which I also followed: Double the amount of apples ( do half shredded, half chopped), add 1 tsp of cinnamon to dough, do 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar. For strudel topping I melted the butter so that I do not have it that crumbly and it was perfect, did not sink into muffins for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
634 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
These is the yummiest muffins I's ever had. Super simple too. I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the dry ingredients like many of you did - thanks for the tip. I didn't measure how much apple I used by cups - I just used 2 normal sized apples, grated one and chopped the other. The grated apple just disappears into the batter. Next time I make these I will use one grated apple and two chopped apples (don't chop too small.) I didn't bother using baking apples, just used a red delicious and a gala 'cause that's what I had. I made the "To Die for Blueberry Muffins" the same day so I just split the topping between the two batches - for me it's too much topping for one batch. The batter really does come out looking like cookie dough, so don't be afraid that you did something wrong, it's supposed to be like that. By the way - a tip for getting the muffin out of the pan if you aren't using paper cups, is to use a pineapple knife to get underneath it. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAUSTIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
WOW!! Like a lot of people I doubled the amount of apples, added a tsp of cinnamon, and changed the sugar to be half white and half brown....best muffins I have ever had. I am taking the boys apple picking so I can make more!! My middle one din't want to bring them to his play date because he didn't want to share them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe looked okay on paper but really didn't work out for me. At all. The muffin batter was very dry and that was after I only put in a cup and a half of flour. The reason I only put a cup and a half of flour in is because after I mixed the wet ingredients together, it was quite obvious there wasn't near enough liquid to moisten two cups of flour. I guessed by looking at the batter with the cup and a half of flour that a half cup of milk might be just enough to moisten the muffin batter enough to actually make muffins. When I made the strudel, it looked fine but when I went to bake it, the mixture bled all over my oven and started a fire. NOT HAPPY. I'm not a baking novice by any means and I do make quite a bit of muffins for my family--this recipe was an absolute flop for me. Not only am I angry that I wasted the ingredients, I now have to scrape the sugar off the bottom of my oven. I really wish I'd thought to read the reviews before I made this one or skipped this recipe all together. Cheers to those who made this recipe and had a success--I did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Wow, these are really good. I also doubled the topping, and put some of it in the middle of the muffins (filled tin 1/2 way, put some topping in, filled rest of way, and finished with topping) and it was out of this world. Be sure to chop apples in small pieces. I thought the batter was a bit stiff, but remember that moisture will be released as the apples bake, and they were very moist when finished. TRY THIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Our family loves these muffins! I make mini muffins with the recipe by adding cinnamon, a little milk if the batter is thick, omitting the crumb topping, and baking for about 15 minutes. Our kids can't get enough of them and enjoy them for snacks and school lunches. I've even made an 8x8 cake with the recipe. I include the topping and bake for abour 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This was a great recipe. The only change I made at first was to use 1/2 cup of brown sugar in place of 1/2 cup of white sugar. Baked some muffins.. they were good but a bit bland.. so I added 2 tsp of cinnimon to the batter and a little oatmeal to the struesel.... they were OUTSTANDING! Everything loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
If I could give this a six stars, I would! This has been a favourite at my B&B all week. It also packs well for the West Coast Trail visitors that I send off with breakfast. I like to put the topping in a middle layer and on top. It's best fresh because the aroma from the oven is fabulous, but I admit the leftovers are just fine, too. Doubling the recipe is the only way to have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This recipe is YUMMY! I added a few things, 1/4c.cinnamon applesauce and some cinnamon to the recipe and cut the butter to 1/4 c. Also, put part of the topping in the middle. Although the topping didn't work that well for me, the muffins were still fantastic! Made them for ladies brunch and can't wait to make them just for my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States