Apple Strudel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
An Absolute Wonderful Muffin! My husband couldn't get enough of them. As in many recipes at first the batter once incorporated completely did seemingly look a lil' stiff. However, I too not being an novice baker kept in mind that once in the oven, the apples in the baking process releases moisture into the muffins. Thus the ending results are moist beautiful muffins. The young lady Ms. SARAH JO that made this recipe and gave such disgruntled review, I would suggest to you whenever you bake w a crumb topping of ANY type,(TIP): a baker should ALWAYS place a pan lined w baking paper under the muffin pan to catch the possible fallen crumb's. IT'S JUST GOOD COMMON BAKING SENSE. no oven to clean!! And my hats off to the lady suggesting adding crumb mixture to the middle of the muffin. Wow! It was another great alternate way off altering the recipe. However, these recipes are written to be made as written, therefore to the bakers that change the recipe and then complain. I am sorry, but that's not even respectful. We should all enjoy, share & be respectful of one another's accomplishments. If you have true concerns, then use the review as a helping tip guide for other's without criticizing your own added changes to other's recipes. AllRecipes.com is kind enough to give us this forum. I thank them so much. And I thank each and every Cook/Baker for sharing all these incredibly wonderful recipes. My Apron is off to all you. God Bless each of you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly except I substituted brown sugar for white in the batter. I thought there was something wrong with this recipe as soon as I mixed it together. The consistency is like really sticky cookie batter not muffin batter. I thought they would be inedible. They were edible but the consistency is not pleasant. Very dry and dense. The topping was very good but I added more flour until I had almost a cornmeal type texture (like crumble for an apple crumble).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious. My family begs me to make these, I double the amount of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great recipe aside from forgetting spices! I added 1 t. Cinnamon and 1/2 t. Nutmeg. I also substituted pureed pumpkin for the eggs (1/2 c. Pumpkin total) and added an extra 1/2 c. Apples. They came out great! Nice flavor and consistency. Could have been a bit sweeter, next time I will use 1/2 c. Brown sugar and 1/2 c. White sugar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These are SUPER yummy & pretty easy to make. I followed all the previous reviews tweaks and the muffins came out delightful. The 2nd time I made them I added a little bit of cardamon w/the cinnamon & nutmeg to dry ingredients, gave them a pleasant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
VERY DISAPPOINTED!!! I made these exactly by the recipe. I wish I would have read tips from the reviews. The muffin was very bland. And the crumb topping melted away, and did not stay "crumby". My 6 year old helped make these and he didn't like them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Mmmm yum! After reading some of the reviews I decided to shred 1 cup of the apple which also extracted some of the natural juices and chop the other half cup so you also have the nice chunks. I also used 1/2 cup of brown and 1/2 cup white sugars and added cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. I still found the batter a little on the dry side so I slowly added a little apple juice to it until I reached the desired consistency. Not only were they delicious, but my kitchen smelled like heaven on a cold winters day! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Tried it based on all the positive reviews but I was very disappointed! I read several readers reviews and took many of their recommendations: I added extra apple (I/2 chopped, 1/2 shredded) and a container of Apple sauce, cinnamon and nutmeg. I added the topping as listed. Still they were very dry and bland. I will look for a different recipe the next time I crave apple muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Second time that I baked, I didn't have vanilla so instead I put cacao. I used only brown sugar and like other reviewers I double the amount of apples (but all shredded and chopped) and add 1 tsp of cinnamon to dough as well. They are simply yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkchan15
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
as the other reviews suggested i grated half of the apple quantity and added it to the batter, and i also added cinnamon to the flour mix! all in all these are tasty and easy muffins to make but they recipe needed adjustments. thanks to the other users for the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States