Apple Strudel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My family loved these muffins. Changed to half white and half light brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg added to the dry ingredients. To increase moisture added 1/3 cup of sour cream. Used Granny Smith apples. Baked perfectly for 20 minutes. Delicious. Will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The recipe is perfect as written. It did not specify what type of Apple to use so I chose Granny Smith with delicious results. For all those adding spices to improve the recipe, that's fine, but the muffins don't need it. If you want an apple spice muffin then sure, add them- but a plain apple muffin is a really good thing too and that's what this recipe is all about!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
this is a great recipe. i decrease the sugar and still taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kareen Yew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I've made these a few times, with good results. For me, the type of apple used really determines how much apple flavor shines through. I add 1/3 cup oats and an extra tbl flour in the streusel topping..yum. (Add extra butter as needed.) 1 teaspoon of cinnamon in the batter is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MStevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I think there may be some typo's with this recipe. Add 1/2 cup milk (or applesauce) and 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter. Bake for 25 min. It turned out great! I also added 1 banana, chopped, and it resulted in a delicious, moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
batter was to thick so I used some veggie oil and it helped some. other than that I added little pumpkin all spice to the batter and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Scaff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I did some tweaking with it to make it more of my own, and I believe that ultimately made it so much more devine. With the chopped apples I put it in a skillet and sauteed them with about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, nutmeg, cinnamon, and a squeeze of lemon. Cooked them for about 5-8 minutes and added it to the mix when it called for it in the recipe. You can add the juices from the Apple & brown sugar mix, it adds more flavor and more moisture to the muffins. Also in the batter itself I added a touch more cinnamon to it so it would not be so plain. Overall it was a great recipe that my whole family loves and devours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I gave this a three star because the batter was extremely dry and hard to moisten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tootsieroll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This was good. I followed recommendations and added 2 apples (one shredded and one chopped) and 1tsp cinnamon to batter. I needed to make them dairy free for one son so I added a small cup of apple sauce and 1 Tbsp of canola oil; the apple sauce may have been enough, though, with the extra shredded apple. I also subbed the butter in the tooping with canola oil and it worked fine. I also used 1/2 white and brown sugar. I think I may try cutting back to 2/3 cup of sugar total as the extra apples/sauce gave extra sweetness. Would be good with nuts, too. My husband and boys loved these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,082) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States