Apple Strudel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
After reading the 1-Stars and seeing how dry they end up, I made a few modifications and they turned out EXCELLENT. I added a soft banana, a healthy dollop of sour cream (probably 1/4 cup)and a little vegetable oil. I also doubled the cinnamon and added nutmeg to give it more spice. Give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Towns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Murphy5
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Made as written. The only change was to up the baking temp to 400 for the first 5 minutes, then complete the baking time at 375. This helps to ensure the muffin won't sink with the topping. Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
It wasn't as 'appley' as I was hoping. Tasted more like mini coffee cakes than muffins. Good with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
followed the recipe with reviewers changes and they were amazing. I could see them being very dry without shredding some of the apples. as is 3 star with changes 5 star averaged out to 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I subbed half of the butter (which I melted) for unsweetened applesauce, and added 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. allspice. I forgot to make the topping, but they still turned out great! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The batter was super dry and crumbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
They are so good, and my kids love them. I will do it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is my first rate...I took some advice and doubled the chopped apple...also used 1/2 flax meal &1/2 whole wheat flour w/ Brown sugar only. And lastly used oatmeal, pumpkin pie spice & Brown sugar in the streusel using your measurements...best apple muffin I ever made or eaten...Will definitely make again...p.s. super moist without added liquids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southern chick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeeNyne
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I think these are very good! I made them exactly as instructed - except I used some apples that were left over from another recipe. They had been sitting in cinnamon/allspice flavored "brown sugar juice" for a couple days. I chopped the apples a little more but did not grate any extra. I dumped in about two cups of apple chunks - brown sugar juice and all. I used the topping, but just a smidge (my preference). Delicious. I was a little freaked out by the thickness of the batter but they turned out great - moist and flavorful and yum-my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeeNyne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Very good recipe, tasting first batch right now and ow they're yummy. I changed the following: Added 2 cups of shredded apples (instead of 1 1/2 cups chopped), added 1 tsp cinnamon to the batter. Next time I will try with even more apples (maybe 2 1/2 cups). The consistency of the batter is great and rich with flavor. The topping is amazing. Thumbs of for this recipe! I will most certainly bake it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Barsan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,096) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States