Apple Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I had 4 small acorn squash, so I cooked them whole in the microwave with a sweet potato. I sautéed onion in butter added Apple & 3 small carrots & 1qt. of chicken broth. I cut the squash in half, took out the seeds and scraped the squash from the skin & peeled the sweet potato & added it to the broth to simmer for 10 minutes. I puréed it together. Add pepper & croutons to your serving. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made dairy free by subbing olive oil for the butter. I must have used too large a squash, my soup needed thinning with extra chicken broth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What you cooking Willis?
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made the vegan version (water for broth and olive oil sub for butter) and was wanting a bit more kick. Flavors were great but a little too subtle for me. I added 1/2 tsp minced ginger 1/2 tsp cinnamon and salt/pepper to taste and it really elevated the flavor. Great simple recipe for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Delicious! I threw some carrots in there as well. I added some ginger, cinnamon, ground black pepper, some minced garlic & some sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I'll start by saying that I don't love squash, but I keep reading how good the orange veggies are for you, so I decided to try it as a soup. I really enjoyed it. The apples lowered the squashiness and gave it just the right added taste. I appreciate having a soup recipe that doesn't rely on cream for its thickness and delicousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made this for a soup-potluck, with a triple recipe. NOTE: you do NOT need 3 sticks of butter to saute the onions and apples. I used 2 sticks, which was more than I needed for them to soften but added a lovely butter taste to the soup. At the end, I added salt, pepper and cinnamon. The soup went over well but there was some left over. When I heated a cup later, I topped it with crushed walnuts. That was a nice addition. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Fabulous. It didn't need anything else. My first time cooking with an acorn squash and I just loved the simplicity and deliciousness of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very very tasty. I made this vegetarian by subbing water for the broth with no noticeable change in flavor. It could be made vegan by subbing oil for the butter. I changed the prep slightly by poking 2 holes in the squash- to let air escape- and then microwaving it for 4 minutes. This made is easier to peel and cut and clean out. I then proceeded as directed. Hubs likes squash slightly sweeter, so he added 1 teaspoon of honey to his serving. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Holy cow, this is good! I gave it a four because I added some water to think out the consistency a bit. I also cooked everything together. I started the onions and apples in the butter, then added raw squash cubes and chicken broth, and simmered everything until the squash was tender. Yes, I took my life into my hands peeling that squash! Thanks for the delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent. I did add salt, pepper and a pinch of cinnamon and with that addition, it's delicious! It seems so simple but the flavors blend well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States