Apple Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very very tasty. I made this vegetarian by subbing water for the broth with no noticeable change in flavor. It could be made vegan by subbing oil for the butter. I changed the prep slightly by poking 2 holes in the squash- to let air escape- and then microwaving it for 4 minutes. This made is easier to peel and cut and clean out. I then proceeded as directed. Hubs likes squash slightly sweeter, so he added 1 teaspoon of honey to his serving. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent. I did add salt, pepper and a pinch of cinnamon and with that addition, it's delicious! It seems so simple but the flavors blend well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Fabulous. It didn't need anything else. My first time cooking with an acorn squash and I just loved the simplicity and deliciousness of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Delicious! I threw some carrots in there as well. I added some ginger, cinnamon, ground black pepper, some minced garlic & some sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This soup is delicious!! I was quite skeptical since it was so simple, but the flavor was amazing. I mostly followed the recipe, but did everything in one pot. I used olive oil and about 1 T. of butter instead of 1/2c of butter. I had to add extra broth while blending because my blender is weak, but the consistency was perfect. I seasoned with a little kosher salt and pepper when I put it back in the pot. I served with a swirl of sour cream and chives on top. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Love this soup! Even my bf, who doesn't like squash, said it has a nice flavor. The only thing I added was a pinch of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I had 4 small acorn squash, so I cooked them whole in the microwave with a sweet potato. I sautéed onion in butter added Apple & 3 small carrots & 1qt. of chicken broth. I cut the squash in half, took out the seeds and scraped the squash from the skin & peeled the sweet potato & added it to the broth to simmer for 10 minutes. I puréed it together. Add pepper & croutons to your serving. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What you cooking Willis?
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made the vegan version (water for broth and olive oil sub for butter) and was wanting a bit more kick. Flavors were great but a little too subtle for me. I added 1/2 tsp minced ginger 1/2 tsp cinnamon and salt/pepper to taste and it really elevated the flavor. Great simple recipe for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made dairy free by subbing olive oil for the butter. I must have used too large a squash, my soup needed thinning with extra chicken broth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe is VERY good. I gave it 4 stars just because you need to add a little salt and pepper. Very very good. nice and creamy and you can really taste the apple. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States