Apple Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe is VERY good. I gave it 4 stars just because you need to add a little salt and pepper. Very very good. nice and creamy and you can really taste the apple. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Absolutely amazing...definitely a keeper...too added salt and pepper. Served with a dolop of sour cream for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This soup is delicious!! I was quite skeptical since it was so simple, but the flavor was amazing. I mostly followed the recipe, but did everything in one pot. I used olive oil and about 1 T. of butter instead of 1/2c of butter. I had to add extra broth while blending because my blender is weak, but the consistency was perfect. I seasoned with a little kosher salt and pepper when I put it back in the pot. I served with a swirl of sour cream and chives on top. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Love this soup! Even my bf, who doesn't like squash, said it has a nice flavor. The only thing I added was a pinch of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent. I did add salt, pepper and a pinch of cinnamon and with that addition, it's delicious! It seems so simple but the flavors blend well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Holy cow, this is good! I gave it a four because I added some water to think out the consistency a bit. I also cooked everything together. I started the onions and apples in the butter, then added raw squash cubes and chicken broth, and simmered everything until the squash was tender. Yes, I took my life into my hands peeling that squash! Thanks for the delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very very tasty. I made this vegetarian by subbing water for the broth with no noticeable change in flavor. It could be made vegan by subbing oil for the butter. I changed the prep slightly by poking 2 holes in the squash- to let air escape- and then microwaving it for 4 minutes. This made is easier to peel and cut and clean out. I then proceeded as directed. Hubs likes squash slightly sweeter, so he added 1 teaspoon of honey to his serving. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Fabulous. It didn't need anything else. My first time cooking with an acorn squash and I just loved the simplicity and deliciousness of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made this for a soup-potluck, with a triple recipe. NOTE: you do NOT need 3 sticks of butter to saute the onions and apples. I used 2 sticks, which was more than I needed for them to soften but added a lovely butter taste to the soup. At the end, I added salt, pepper and cinnamon. The soup went over well but there was some left over. When I heated a cup later, I topped it with crushed walnuts. That was a nice addition. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I'll start by saying that I don't love squash, but I keep reading how good the orange veggies are for you, so I decided to try it as a soup. I really enjoyed it. The apples lowered the squashiness and gave it just the right added taste. I appreciate having a soup recipe that doesn't rely on cream for its thickness and delicousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States