Apple Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I had 4 small acorn squash, so I cooked them whole in the microwave with a sweet potato. I sautéed onion in butter added Apple & 3 small carrots & 1qt. of chicken broth. I cut the squash in half, took out the seeds and scraped the squash from the skin & peeled the sweet potato & added it to the broth to simmer for 10 minutes. I puréed it together. Add pepper & croutons to your serving. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made dairy free by subbing olive oil for the butter. I must have used too large a squash, my soup needed thinning with extra chicken broth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What you cooking Willis?
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made the vegan version (water for broth and olive oil sub for butter) and was wanting a bit more kick. Flavors were great but a little too subtle for me. I added 1/2 tsp minced ginger 1/2 tsp cinnamon and salt/pepper to taste and it really elevated the flavor. Great simple recipe for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Delicious! I threw some carrots in there as well. I added some ginger, cinnamon, ground black pepper, some minced garlic & some sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I'll start by saying that I don't love squash, but I keep reading how good the orange veggies are for you, so I decided to try it as a soup. I really enjoyed it. The apples lowered the squashiness and gave it just the right added taste. I appreciate having a soup recipe that doesn't rely on cream for its thickness and delicousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made this for a soup-potluck, with a triple recipe. NOTE: you do NOT need 3 sticks of butter to saute the onions and apples. I used 2 sticks, which was more than I needed for them to soften but added a lovely butter taste to the soup. At the end, I added salt, pepper and cinnamon. The soup went over well but there was some left over. When I heated a cup later, I topped it with crushed walnuts. That was a nice addition. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Fabulous. It didn't need anything else. My first time cooking with an acorn squash and I just loved the simplicity and deliciousness of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very very tasty. I made this vegetarian by subbing water for the broth with no noticeable change in flavor. It could be made vegan by subbing oil for the butter. I changed the prep slightly by poking 2 holes in the squash- to let air escape- and then microwaving it for 4 minutes. This made is easier to peel and cut and clean out. I then proceeded as directed. Hubs likes squash slightly sweeter, so he added 1 teaspoon of honey to his serving. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Holy cow, this is good! I gave it a four because I added some water to think out the consistency a bit. I also cooked everything together. I started the onions and apples in the butter, then added raw squash cubes and chicken broth, and simmered everything until the squash was tender. Yes, I took my life into my hands peeling that squash! Thanks for the delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent. I did add salt, pepper and a pinch of cinnamon and with that addition, it's delicious! It seems so simple but the flavors blend well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States