Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe turned out great with a couple of small changes. I doubled the recipe but cut down the brown sugar and white sugar to 2/3 cup of each (instead of 1 cup of each had I doubled the original recipe) and used 2 apples (approximately 2 cups). I baked it in a 9x13 inch pan. It turned out very moist and has just the right amount of sweetness and apple flavor! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Loved these apple bars. I left out the nuts (personal preference), used a 9x13 and doubled the recipe EXCEPT the cinnamon/sugar topping which I kept the same for the first batch I made. I felt like that was still too much topping for me (and I'm a big ol' fan of sweets!). So on my next double batch, I just sprinkled on the topping until it covered the surface of the bars in a thin layer. It ended up being only about 2/3 of it, which was ideal to me. With that change, it's a keeper--disappeared in my office in record time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Made it tonight for a Thanksgiving party. Really tasty! I love apples and this reminded me of a very similar recipe that my mom used to make. I doubled the recipe like most of the other reviewers, cut the sugar in half, used 4 gala apples, shredded instead of chopped(will increase to 5 next time) and I squeezed most of the juice out, also ground walnuts ,used baking soda instead of baking powder(always works better for me). Baked in a 9x13 dish and it came out very fluffy and not too sweet, more like apple bread(I like that!) skipped the sugar on top, only used cinnamon and after cooled and cut, I sprinkled vanilla powder sugar(home made for x-mas cookies). It's the only topping fine enough to stick, as I noticed some of the comments posted that sugar was falling off. Will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freethinker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
So glad I took another reviewer's advice and doubled the cake, single topping; this will not last long in our house! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe a few times and I LOVE IT! Thanks!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Followed others' suggestions of more apple, and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
These bars were really good! My only suggestion would be to decrease the amount of cinnamon sugar on top to at least half. There was just too much and it made them too sweet. Otherwise, a very nice fall treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Delicious. Could have used a little less cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top. Other than that, spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe and instructions. They did not work at all! Thin, gummy, couldn't cut into squares to serve. I guess you could scoop them out and add ice cream. But as a cake type square, didn't work! Lora Deanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this exactly to the recipe didn't change a thing. One word delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States