Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I doubled the mixed in apples and covered with thinly sliced apples on top before sprinkling with cinnamon sugar. Took about 40 mins to bake. I was afraid they would fall apart but they came out perfectly, super moist with a lot of Apple and minimal cake. I am counting these as a healthy snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I also doubled the recipe and baked in a 9 x 13 cake pan for slightly longer. I added pecans, which I had on hand and also added an extra cup of apples. Everyone loved these bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Use Veg Oil instead of butter. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Excellent. I did not change anything, except less cinna/sugar mixture. I will try a bit less sugar and more apples next time (as other reviewers did), just because i dont think we need to eat all that sugar (although it tastes very good). Mine was done in 25 min. I do want to add you need to make sure you sift the flour first, and then measure 1 cup. It seemed by some reviews that maybe they weren't sifting first, saying they got a very thick dough. Its a thick batter, but not as thick as some describe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is very good and didn't last for more than a day at my house! I needed to triple the vanilla extract and cinnamon so I would be able to taste them. I also added a cup of apples unpeeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Didn't work for me at all. I followed the recipe exactly. It just wouldn't cook. It was practically raw in the middle and then rock hard on the outside. The cake also never rose. The sugar/cinnamon coating on top remained just like plain dry sugar granules. Very strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great! These were gone the same day! Sort of like a coffee cake texture. Made exactly as shown, with a few extra nuts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was just okay. a 9x13 dish was too big. The bars were too thin, and fell apart easily.There also seemed to be too much sugar and cinnamon on top. The flavor was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
We really liked these squares. I used white whole wheat and sucanat sugar, in place of the flour and brown and white sugars. Really good and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I don't think I've ever been more pleased with a new recipe! I used whole wheat flour instead of regular ~ because that's all I use ~ and doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 inch cake pan, as others have. I have a 16 year old son who's IMPOSSIBLE and won't eat nuts in anything, so I decided to forgo the walnuts and added extra apple ~ for the doubled recipe, I used 1 and 1/2 cups Fuji apples (GREAT this year here in MI). I was also out of cinnamon, so I used 1/8 teaspoon cloves and 1/2 teaspoon ginger instead. And I used just a tablespoon of white sugar with a couple of pinches of cloves and ginger sprinkled on top before baking. WOW! My son LOVES it! I LOVE it! When you can tweak a recipe and have the result turn out amazingly, the recipe in itself is great. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 943) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States