Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This was my first time really cooking or baking and the recipe was still amazing!!!!! I love apple based recipes and am always make up my own but this was by far the best, my mom dad and sister loved it and so did I. Thank you so much for posting this quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I bake for seniors groups. I try to do something different every week. This week I choose these apple squares. I am sorry I did. I am on a diet and I had a tiny little piece and could have eaten the entire 9 x 13 pan. They are absolutely delicious and so easy to make. The ladies don't like nuts (dentures you know) and I didn't have any raisins to I added the last of my currants and it turned out great. Can hardly wait to see their reaction at tomorrow's meeting. I hope I managed to keep my hands off them until then. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe. Oh I took others advice, doubled the recipe, used only 1/2 c of brown sugar and 1/2 of Splendid and used 3 Pacific Rose apples with skin still on. Just sprinkled about 1.5 T of brown sugar on top and pressed it in so it wouldn't fall off. Forgot to mention also next time I would triple the recipe as they came out a little on the thin side and the 'girls' like a good mouthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Baxter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Made it for Easter. A big hit. Making for second time now, quadrupled the recipe for a deep 10 x 15
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Jean Silence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
this is a great recipe - i doubled it and used apple sauce with half butter and it was great! thanks for such an easy tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa
Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I went a little easy on the sugar, but otherwise made them according to the recipe. (Left out the walnuts, due to allergies). Thought they came out great! And so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I followed all of the suggestions from MOMTOKTL. It is the closest thing to home made-apple pie taste you can get. With these changes I would give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
these are great! didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is a great recipe! Doubled it and used a 16x10 pan. Only used about 1tbsp of sugar cinnamon topping which was plenty! Baked for 30 minutes and the squares came out moist and delicious! They actually get better the next day! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I'm just in the midst of baking this for the first time. I'll let you know but doubled the recipe and was awfully dry to combine. I had to add more butter and some milk. Anyone else have the same problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Entlebucherlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This is exactly the same recipe I have received passed down from my mom, who has been making these squares for 40+ years; its no fail and always a huge hit wherever we take them. Very quick and easy to make. I usually just sprinkle the cinnamon/sugar mixture over top in the amount that we like but its never the full 3 tbsp or so of mixture...just a dusting. I also rarely measure the apple but I know its always more than 1/2 c; closer to 1 cup. Very yummy and a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 986) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States