Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I don't know why people go crazy about this recipe. It's average. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yevgeniya Zhenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
One word: DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
These are really tasty, but a bit on the chewy/dense side. Next time I make them (and there WILL be a next time) I will substitute applesauce for the 1/4 cup of butter in the hopes that it'll make them a little less dense and cut down on some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Hutchins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a good recipe. I made it one day, 1 1/2 times the recipe in a 9 x 13" pan. I backed the sugar up by about a third and halved the topping, all based on other people's reviews. The result was good enough that we wanted more but seemed to be missing something, so I made another batch. One and a half times the recipe in a 9" x 13" pan, with full bore sugar. I used Honeycrisp apples, four of them, but otherwise followed the recipe, including the entire amount for the topping. SUCH good food! Lots of classic flavors here, especially when you put a square of it in a bowl and pour some cream in beside it. Sometimes you just need all the sugar. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
EXCELLENT, couldn't keep our hands off of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have NO idea what went wrong! I was afraid to overcook after reading several others info. So, I baked for the longest time listed and promptly took out and left to cool completely. When I cut into it, it was "swampy!" I decided what the heck? Put it back into a reheated oven and left it there for about 15 more minutes, burnt the top, (no surprise there) but the middle of this tasted o.k. Which is the reason it got 2 stars... I don't know if I'm going to commit to this recipe or not. Maybe if I have a burning desire to fail again, I will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Was delicious! Used pecans because had no walnuts.doubled recipe. Was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Looking for something to do on a snowy day while my wife was out and saw this recipe. My wife and I recently picked two bushels of Northern Spy apples and I was looking for a good apple recipe. I did not use the last two ingredients as I thought there was enough sugar in the recipe without the topping. I followed the recipe but used a full large diced apple instead of a half cup. Probable came to a full cup or slightly more as I didn't measure. Also used a full cup of walnuts crunched in a plastic bag with a rolling pin. This is a fantastic recipe. Didn't have a 9x9 pan so I used a 7x11 pan figuring this was close enough to the 81 sq. in. pan. Next time I make this I will double the recipe as we ate this to quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Amazing! Shared recipe with others and they said the same! I used no nuts since I didn't have any, added more apple and did not use all the topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
These are really good! I doubled the recipe and baked them in a 9x13 pan. I would reduce the amount of cinnamon in the topping a little next time. They taste like strudel tops on muffins. Super easy and fast to make. I was almost going to make muffins and this seemed easier. Also I used raw sugar instead of white sugar since that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 958) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States