Apple Spice Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
My 2 year-old and I both loved this rice. I used a long grain and wild rice mixture, just because I love wild rice. Also, I used a little more chicken broth than indicated in the recipe, because if you use it in a can, you have 2 oz left over after you put in the 1 1/2 cups in the recipe. I couldn't bring myself to throw it out, but what are you gonna do with 2 ounces of leftover chicken broth?? Oh, the broth I had in the house was low-sodium, so that's what I used, and it was fine. This recipe seemed to have a perfect balance of the different flavors. I definitely wouldn't mess with the amounts of apples, raisins, and especially the garlic, or the balance might be lost. We'll be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I used apple sauce instead of an apple and added 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and cumin. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
The rice was good as a side dish. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and there was FAR too much butter. The next time, I used only enough butter necessary to cover the bottom of the pan, and it was a lot better. I would reduce the amount of raisins to somewhere around 1/3 cups. They overpower the dish in terms of aesthetics and in terms of taste when 1/2 cup is used. Next time, I might grate the apple. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I really enjoyed this, I love any dish that incorporates apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This rice was AWESOME. My boyfriend and I both loved it. I will be making this again and again! I used brown rice, and since the bag called for 2C liquid, I used a whole 16-oz can of chicken broth. I also didn't have an onion so I subbed 1T onion powder. My kitchen smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is a nice side dish. No fireworks or drama, just a very good accompaniment to a main course. I had a yellow sweet bell pepper in the fridge that needed to be used so I added about 1/2 cup of it diced to the rest of the ingredients that got sauteed. I have had a similar dish at a restaurant where they add some slivered almonds to the rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I loved this rice. After having a busy work week, I was being a bit lazy. I took 1/4 onion, I peeled and cut up an apple, and the garlic clove, and threw it in the processor. I then put them into a large microwave safe bowl with the 3 T butter and nuked on high for about a minute until onion was soft. Added the rice, chicken stock, S&P, and a 1/4 tsp. curry powder. Covered with plastic wrap and vented. Nuked on high for 5 mins, then medium for 15 mins, and let rest for 5 more minutes and fluffed with a fork. It was perfect. I left out the raisins (wish I didn't have to) but no one else here likes them but me. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
this was a really nice side, but missing something. Will definitely make again, but will add pine nuts for sure and probably some honey and/or Chinese 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Really good! Gentle subdued flavors, a wonderful complement to a stronger main dish. I cooked this exactly as the recipe called for except with extra garlic. A great dish as is but I will definitely experiment with spices! I loved the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. It went very well with the pork chops with onions and apples that we made. It is a very nice addition to our collection of side dishes, and we look forward to playing around with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States