Apple Spice Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
My 2 year-old and I both loved this rice. I used a long grain and wild rice mixture, just because I love wild rice. Also, I used a little more chicken broth than indicated in the recipe, because if you use it in a can, you have 2 oz left over after you put in the 1 1/2 cups in the recipe. I couldn't bring myself to throw it out, but what are you gonna do with 2 ounces of leftover chicken broth?? Oh, the broth I had in the house was low-sodium, so that's what I used, and it was fine. This recipe seemed to have a perfect balance of the different flavors. I definitely wouldn't mess with the amounts of apples, raisins, and especially the garlic, or the balance might be lost. We'll be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I used apple sauce instead of an apple and added 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and cumin. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
The rice was good as a side dish. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and there was FAR too much butter. The next time, I used only enough butter necessary to cover the bottom of the pan, and it was a lot better. I would reduce the amount of raisins to somewhere around 1/3 cups. They overpower the dish in terms of aesthetics and in terms of taste when 1/2 cup is used. Next time, I might grate the apple. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I really enjoyed this, I love any dish that incorporates apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This rice was AWESOME. My boyfriend and I both loved it. I will be making this again and again! I used brown rice, and since the bag called for 2C liquid, I used a whole 16-oz can of chicken broth. I also didn't have an onion so I subbed 1T onion powder. My kitchen smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is a nice side dish. No fireworks or drama, just a very good accompaniment to a main course. I had a yellow sweet bell pepper in the fridge that needed to be used so I added about 1/2 cup of it diced to the rest of the ingredients that got sauteed. I have had a similar dish at a restaurant where they add some slivered almonds to the rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I loved this rice. After having a busy work week, I was being a bit lazy. I took 1/4 onion, I peeled and cut up an apple, and the garlic clove, and threw it in the processor. I then put them into a large microwave safe bowl with the 3 T butter and nuked on high for about a minute until onion was soft. Added the rice, chicken stock, S&P, and a 1/4 tsp. curry powder. Covered with plastic wrap and vented. Nuked on high for 5 mins, then medium for 15 mins, and let rest for 5 more minutes and fluffed with a fork. It was perfect. I left out the raisins (wish I didn't have to) but no one else here likes them but me. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
this was a really nice side, but missing something. Will definitely make again, but will add pine nuts for sure and probably some honey and/or Chinese 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Really good! Gentle subdued flavors, a wonderful complement to a stronger main dish. I cooked this exactly as the recipe called for except with extra garlic. A great dish as is but I will definitely experiment with spices! I loved the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. It went very well with the pork chops with onions and apples that we made. It is a very nice addition to our collection of side dishes, and we look forward to playing around with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States