Apple Spice Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good! All the family liked it. I served it with the pecan and honey pork chops (see review). It went together perfectly. I had some packet mix byriani spices and I added a small amount at the first stage, just to jazz it up a bit. This is a definite winner and I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Wonderful side dish. My husband doesn't normally like ricey type dishes went back for seconds! I added slivered almond along with the other ingredients and the only change I will make next time is to double the recipe! It went well withe the Apple Butter Pork Loin from this site; however I used a turkey loin instead of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gate City, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made this a little differently. I used one generous tablespoon of butter which I sauteed half a large onion, one tart green apple, 2 large cloves of garlic and a heaped third cup of raisins. Sprinkled on 1/3 tsp. of homemade pie seasoning. I cooked this down for about 5 minutes before adding a third cup of NaVan (a vanilla liqueur produced by Grand Marnier) and the remainder water + chicken bouillon cube (I did add roughly another half cup of water as usually the ratio for rice is 1 to 2). Let it come to a boil and added the rice (I used basmati). Despite my changes, it was quite bland- I reduced/boiled some of the marinade from the shrimp main dish I served this with to give this more flavour. Served this with "Grilled Shrimp and Apple Skewers" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Very, very good!! I did cut down to a 1/4 cup on the raisins though. This is truly a keeper. Compliments the stuffed pork tenderloin recipe by Mary Ann wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Really good! Gentle subdued flavors, a wonderful complement to a stronger main dish. I cooked this exactly as the recipe called for except with extra garlic. A great dish as is but I will definitely experiment with spices! I loved the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. It went very well with the pork chops with onions and apples that we made. It is a very nice addition to our collection of side dishes, and we look forward to playing around with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Added some Vindaloo spice and wow -- this was just tremendous! We're fighting over the leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I really enjoyed this, I love any dish that incorporates apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I loved this rice. After having a busy work week, I was being a bit lazy. I took 1/4 onion, I peeled and cut up an apple, and the garlic clove, and threw it in the processor. I then put them into a large microwave safe bowl with the 3 T butter and nuked on high for about a minute until onion was soft. Added the rice, chicken stock, S&P, and a 1/4 tsp. curry powder. Covered with plastic wrap and vented. Nuked on high for 5 mins, then medium for 15 mins, and let rest for 5 more minutes and fluffed with a fork. It was perfect. I left out the raisins (wish I didn't have to) but no one else here likes them but me. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
We thought this was a nice accompaniment to "Honey-Mustard Baked Chicken" from this site. That recipe has a slightly Indian flair to it, and I thought this rice might too. This is a fairly bland side dish, but that was just fine for us as our chicken had a very flavorful sauce. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States