Apple Spice Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
My 2 year-old and I both loved this rice. I used a long grain and wild rice mixture, just because I love wild rice. Also, I used a little more chicken broth than indicated in the recipe, because if you use it in a can, you have 2 oz left over after you put in the 1 1/2 cups in the recipe. I couldn't bring myself to throw it out, but what are you gonna do with 2 ounces of leftover chicken broth?? Oh, the broth I had in the house was low-sodium, so that's what I used, and it was fine. This recipe seemed to have a perfect balance of the different flavors. I definitely wouldn't mess with the amounts of apples, raisins, and especially the garlic, or the balance might be lost. We'll be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
A very tasty rice side dish. Not really spicy enough for my taste, and I did not really care for the raisins...it seemed to have more sweet than spice. Next time I'll try adding some curry and more garlic, it should compliment the raisins quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
My husband rated this a 4, but I thought it was more of a 2 or 3. I thought the leftovers tasted better the 2nd day. I'll probably make it again just to give it another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
this was a really nice side, but missing something. Will definitely make again, but will add pine nuts for sure and probably some honey and/or Chinese 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is a nice side dish. No fireworks or drama, just a very good accompaniment to a main course. I had a yellow sweet bell pepper in the fridge that needed to be used so I added about 1/2 cup of it diced to the rest of the ingredients that got sauteed. I have had a similar dish at a restaurant where they add some slivered almonds to the rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I used apple sauce instead of an apple and added 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and cumin. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
i thought this was just okay, nice change from the plain rice. i ended up adding cumin to give it some spark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My DH makes this for me all the time - he follows the recipe exactly and we love it. Not for those who like things more savory (as opposed to sweet) though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I didn't care for the combination of the apples, onion and garlic, but my boyfriend thought it was okay. I won't make it again, but other people might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I have to agree that this isn't the best recipe, but it's not bad. If you like lots of flavor, this might need more tinkering, this is somewhere in the middle between plain white rice and full flavored rice with a kick. This is definitely easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States