Apple Spice Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
The rice was good as a side dish. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and there was FAR too much butter. The next time, I used only enough butter necessary to cover the bottom of the pan, and it was a lot better. I would reduce the amount of raisins to somewhere around 1/3 cups. They overpower the dish in terms of aesthetics and in terms of taste when 1/2 cup is used. Next time, I might grate the apple. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I served this as a side dish to my honey-garlic marinated pork roast for dinner with family. It was tasty, but maybe a little bland. I will definitely make it again - possibly add a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe very much. It was sweet and salty and goes good with most asian dishes. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I have to agree that this isn't the best recipe, but it's not bad. If you like lots of flavor, this might need more tinkering, this is somewhere in the middle between plain white rice and full flavored rice with a kick. This is definitely easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I didn't care for the combination of the apples, onion and garlic, but my boyfriend thought it was okay. I won't make it again, but other people might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My DH makes this for me all the time - he follows the recipe exactly and we love it. Not for those who like things more savory (as opposed to sweet) though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
i thought this was just okay, nice change from the plain rice. i ended up adding cumin to give it some spark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I used apple sauce instead of an apple and added 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and cumin. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is a nice side dish. No fireworks or drama, just a very good accompaniment to a main course. I had a yellow sweet bell pepper in the fridge that needed to be used so I added about 1/2 cup of it diced to the rest of the ingredients that got sauteed. I have had a similar dish at a restaurant where they add some slivered almonds to the rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
this was a really nice side, but missing something. Will definitely make again, but will add pine nuts for sure and probably some honey and/or Chinese 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States