Apple Spice Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
We thought this was a nice accompaniment to "Honey-Mustard Baked Chicken" from this site. That recipe has a slightly Indian flair to it, and I thought this rice might too. This is a fairly bland side dish, but that was just fine for us as our chicken had a very flavorful sauce. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was delicious! Was looking for something different to do with rice that would go well with pork. This was perfect! My husband said his mom used to make this dish when he was little and it hadn't had anything like it since. He's 48!! He was very excited. Will definitely be making this many times and recommending to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I used brown rice as that was what I had. I followed the directions on the package as far as quantity of broth used. I put all ingred except apples and Craisins (dd doesn't like raisins) then added those about half way through the package-directed cooking time. This was an excellent side dish that the whole family liked and I will be making again. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
VERY GOOD! I was looking for a rice recipe to accompany an apple bourbon pork tenderloin and this recipe was the answer. It was VERY GOOD! Thank you Allana for sharing your Apple Spice Rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Huge family hit, going to be a common dish in this family, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is my go-to dish at my annual halloween dinner party. It's such a great mix of fall flavors. I use mixed wild rice (wild, black, red, and white) and I can't imagine it any other way. The added texture makes it outstanding. It doesn't have any complicated steps, and its very impressive to guests. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NOELLER67
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I served this with a seafood birthday dinner and I felt like it was a bit of a let down. It tasted good, but it's nothing special. It also looks completely boring once cooked - the apples fade and the raisins are pale. It needs more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This rice was AWESOME. My boyfriend and I both loved it. I will be making this again and again! I used brown rice, and since the bag called for 2C liquid, I used a whole 16-oz can of chicken broth. I also didn't have an onion so I subbed 1T onion powder. My kitchen smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is so easy and delicious. I follow the recipe exactly, but I use my rice cooker instead of on the stove. No fuss, no muss and perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
My family liked this for something different. I was out of onions, so I used onion powder and I left out the raisins. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States