Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
How would I use fresh apples with this recipe. I am not a big fan of canned Apple pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Wohlscheid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I use the canned apple pie filling, cutting the apples smaller then mixing sugar and cinnamon in it before pouring it in the pan. Next, I top it with the cake mix, take a butter knife and swirl it around, slightly mixing the two, then top with melted and pats of butter. No other spices for me! Finally, I lightly top it with icing (Betty Crocker version). Comes out perfect, completely baked, slightly crunchy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Ugh...awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
one family member called said it looked like soupy pecan vomit. and he was right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
you can do this just like an origial dump cake. i used 2 cans apple pie filling and mixed in 1/2 c water to fill. sprinkled spice cake on top and poured melted butter over the top of that, can cant see adding more sugar and spices to something that has enough already. it just over does it, way too sweet. dump cakes are made for simplisity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made changes only because it's just my husband and me so I used 1/2 box spice cake mix (1 1/2 cup) 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg & allspice, 1/2 teaspoon sugar, 1 melted stick butter and 1 can apple pie filling. I put it in an 8X8 pan, and baked for 35-40 minutes. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I've been making dump cakes for 3o yrs and NEVER thought to spice them up! I've always used yellow cake mix. Baked this tonight with yellow cake mix as I don't normally buy spice cake mix & WOW! I will now always add the spices. They gave the cake a little pizazz. My husband & granddaughter had 2 helpings each! Will definitely try with the spice cake mix next time. I'm so glad I happened to be looking for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
The first time I made this, all I had in the cupboard was a butter pecan cake mix and it turned out just fine. Second time I used the spice cake mix and it was even better! This recipe is a keeper for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Made this for company and they loved it. Asked for the recipe. I didn't have any cinnamon, so I used one teaspoon pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 tsp ground allspice. With the spice cake mix, this was plenty. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I only had 1 can of apple pie filling so I mixed it with a can of cherry pie filling. Excellent! Everyone at the party wanted the recipe. Goes great with ice cream also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States