Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Azure
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This cake turned out amazing! It was so moist and delicious and really easy to make, the hardest part was peeling ans slicing the apples. I skipped the raisins and confectioners sugar and baked it in a regular rectangular pan and it still came out so delicious. This is my go to cake recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a simple cake to make. It's not too sweet, and since there's no frosting it's not a production to bake. The second time I made it, I added broken walnuts - very good. I emailed the recipe to a friend with several apple trees and she's as enthusiastic as I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I had a lot of apples to peel, core, etc. and had already made 4 apple pies... looked for an apple spice cake and gave this a try. My family devowered this in 1/2 day (evening dessert and morning breakfast). It's a very moist cake. My only problem is that I didn't grease my cake pan very well and some of it stuck to the sides of the pan. My next batch I'll butter AND flour the pan. Making another batch today! Give this a try and you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Absolutely delicious. The only change I made was I shredded the apples in my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is a very nice and tasty cake! Just as suggested I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 3/4 cup of regular sugar. I also used 1/2 cup of margarine and 1/2 cup of apple sauce to cut on fat. I omitted the raisins and was conservative on the spices because my picky kids don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
My family and I love this cake. I was suprised at how easy it was to make. I have made it several times for many different occasions and it is a hit every time. I make the cake without raisins, and it is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
just made this cake and it is fantastic. cut down a little on the nutmeg and allspice but didn't need to. used one large granny smith and one large gala apples. left them in chunks and worked out just fine. baked in a 13x9 pan for just under and hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Excellent cake recipe! I followed the suggestion of substituting 1/2 cup brown sugar, and omitted the raisins (kids hate 'em--too bad, Im sure they would have been great) I also grated the apples, since I wanted a more uniform appearance and baked in a 9X13 pan. Frost with cinnamon cream cheese frosting--MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This cake has a fairly dense, but tender texture. It is VERY fragrant -- perfect for people who love spice cake (like me!) I decreased and changed the sugar to 1 c. white and 1/2 c. light brown. Could decrease a bit more, or use tart apples (I didn't.) I finished with a light vanilla glaze, and served with a dollop of unsweetened apple sauce which helped balance all the sweet. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very yummy and moist. Mixed up quick and baked up well. Used 1/2 cup of Brown Sugar for part of the sugar. Could have increased the spices a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States