Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the raisins. The wonderful aroma while it was baking was almost too much to handle - it smelled oh-so-good. The cake is moist and it tastes wonderful. I have an apple tree and need to use up lots of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I normally don't like to review a recipe until I can complete it almost exactly but I was super eager to make this cake and I had just ran out of butter and oil so I subbed an entire cup of applesauce instead. I also accidentally added an extra apple and used rum soaked raisins instead of water soaked. I also used a reviewer's advice and subbed half the sugar for brown sugar. My end result? A SUPER moist cake that is more like a bread pudding than an actual cake but the taste is out of this world! I noticed giant apple chunks in some of the photos but I would advise against that, I say pieces slightly bigger than peas will yield the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xena91388

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Sooo good! This was a hit at the potluck at work, and my hubby loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indigo Flare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe. Big hit at work. Made a few small changes: added 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and cut butter to 2/3 cup; replaced 1 cup of the sugar with 3/4 cup brown sugar; cut allspice to 1/2 tsp and added a pinch of cloves; grated the apples in the food pro; made in 9x13 pan and baked 40 minutes; iced with maple cream cheese frosting. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent! I have found it works well to grate the apple on a coarse box grater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Good tasting and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this for Christmas for my family and we all loved it. 2 things I did differently: (1) I soaked raisins in 1T Rum instead of just in water. (2) I cored and sliced the apples thinly and let it sit in the lemon juice from 1 whole lemon, 2 teaspoonfuls of sugar, dash of salt and some powdered cinnamon in a ziploc bag while I was working on the rest of the ingredients. The cake came out really good. Thank you, Krissyp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michimama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
We make cupcakes using the recipe instead and they came out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this for my fathers birthday and everyone LOVED it! I didn't change the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Delicious cake. I did one time a's recipe calls and another with mini cake lets. Changed bake time to 20 minutes for cupcake sized servings. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States