Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
So amazing!!!! I did double the spices because we like a real punch of flavor and I'm so glad I did! This cake stays moist, I'd actually say it's better the second day. I added a glaze, just using powdered sugar, water, and a few drops of orange oil. Poured it on the top and let it run down the sides. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This cake is wonderful. I made it in a angel food cake pan and the only changes I made was that I used 1/2 cup of light brown sugar and 1 & 1/2 cup white sugar. I also made a cream cheese frosting and added around a TB of maple syrup to it. I also took another person's suggestion and used my food processor to shred the apples. It doesn't really shred but it cuts them up really fine, then I put them in a colander and kind of used my hands to squeeze out a lot of the excess juice. This tip really saves a lot of time and mess. This cake is really moist and delicious. I will certainly make it again and I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The cake was so good my Chocolate Lab helped herself to a entire cake. Luckily, I made more than one. *** I DID NOT use raisins, ADDED CLOVE and DID NOT cook it a hour. HUGE HIT IN MY WORLD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Becker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Isn't funny how some people say "too spicy" and some say "not spicy enough"? I'm in the not spicy enough camp. I doubled the cinnamon but was afraid to do too much different on a first try. This was an extremely yummy cake, very moist. I added toasted walnuts because I think everything's better with nuts! (don't understand the "greasy" comment by one reviewer.) I used canned cream cheese icing. Next time I will double all the spices and perhaps make a caramel icing from scratch. Thanks for a really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoughGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is a simple, quick and easy to make. The outside crust is great. I used coconut oil instead of butter and only about 3/4 cup, I do this only because I try to use less butter in everything. I also added chopped pecans, again because I use nuts whenever possible. I will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by upper valley
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Excellent?? did use 1 c of sugar and 1 c of brwn sgr. Also used cranraisins. Did as a bundt cake. Moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent! I chopped the apples small and used another reviewer's suggestion of substituting half of the butter with applesauce. I made mini bundt cakes (baked for 15 minutes) instead of one large one. Will definitely make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made this recipe this past weekend and loved it!! Much easier to make than I suspected it would be, and very, very tasty! I expected it to be a bit dry, but it was very moist and has maintained well in the fridge since I made it. The powdered sugar on top does add something to the overall flavor, but could be left off if you wanted to lower the sugar content. I suspected that the powdered sugar would get "gummy" after some time in the fridge, so I choose to sprinkle each individual serving as I go. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I don't know, maybe I overcooked it (only had it in for 50 minutes), but I though it was kind of dry. Maybe cause I used tub non dairy margarine instead of real butter, a little harder to measure. Maybe I will try some frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe was outstanding! Truly a delightful find. I had apples that needed to be used, and this was the answer. Our family is gluten-free, so I used gluten-free all-purpose flour and added 1 tsp. xanthan gum. Used 4 apples shredded in the food processor. Perfect in every way! Thank you for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States