Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Isn't funny how some people say "too spicy" and some say "not spicy enough"? I'm in the not spicy enough camp. I doubled the cinnamon but was afraid to do too much different on a first try. This was an extremely yummy cake, very moist. I added toasted walnuts because I think everything's better with nuts! (don't understand the "greasy" comment by one reviewer.) I used canned cream cheese icing. Next time I will double all the spices and perhaps make a caramel icing from scratch. Thanks for a really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoughGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is a simple, quick and easy to make. The outside crust is great. I used coconut oil instead of butter and only about 3/4 cup, I do this only because I try to use less butter in everything. I also added chopped pecans, again because I use nuts whenever possible. I will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by upper valley
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Excellent?? did use 1 c of sugar and 1 c of brwn sgr. Also used cranraisins. Did as a bundt cake. Moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent! I chopped the apples small and used another reviewer's suggestion of substituting half of the butter with applesauce. I made mini bundt cakes (baked for 15 minutes) instead of one large one. Will definitely make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made this recipe this past weekend and loved it!! Much easier to make than I suspected it would be, and very, very tasty! I expected it to be a bit dry, but it was very moist and has maintained well in the fridge since I made it. The powdered sugar on top does add something to the overall flavor, but could be left off if you wanted to lower the sugar content. I suspected that the powdered sugar would get "gummy" after some time in the fridge, so I choose to sprinkle each individual serving as I go. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I don't know, maybe I overcooked it (only had it in for 50 minutes), but I though it was kind of dry. Maybe cause I used tub non dairy margarine instead of real butter, a little harder to measure. Maybe I will try some frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe was outstanding! Truly a delightful find. I had apples that needed to be used, and this was the answer. Our family is gluten-free, so I used gluten-free all-purpose flour and added 1 tsp. xanthan gum. Used 4 apples shredded in the food processor. Perfect in every way! Thank you for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Its very tasty recipe. Everyone love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maahin Sohail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
So it taste amazing but for my personal taste i would add less nutmeg and this time i added dried cherries raisins apple slices raspberry blackberry and strawberry and I only had 3/4 cup of butter and no vegetable oil and i added about 3 tablespoons of olive oil and instead of mixing it i blended it. Last change was i did it in a square pan. it taste amazing . I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I don't make cakes very often but wanted to gift a neighbour who is ill. This cake is moist and flavourful and makes a great gift. It lifted my neighbour's spirits just with the aroma of it when I walked in with it straight from the oven. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States