Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
whew! this was a dry cake if i ever saw one! i will add a dollop of sourcream next time i make this (yes, i'll make this again) i grated gala apples vs chopping. & i used alot more allspice. i also frosted this w/store bought vanilla frosting. I HAD TO I HAD NO CHOICE. this was dry!! it was a good coffee dessert if you know what i mean. all in all, very very good flavor & holiday appropriate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by godiva99
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this cake a while ago and am itching to make it again. It was so flavorful and held well. I used 1 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Wonderful. Even better if you take some powdered sugar, apple cider, and cinnamon and make a glaze to pour over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
The only change I made to the original recipe was to rough grate the apples. I used gala apples. It turned our beautiful and delicious. The next time I make it I will try granny smith apples cut in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
i reduced the recipe to serve 7 and made it in a loaf pan. didn't have all purpose flour so i subbed in 3/4 whole wheat, and 1/4 bread flour for the 1 cup the recipe required. totally awesome. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This cake is wonderful. I made it twice, first i soaked my apples in rum then I substituted walnuts for the raisins. I made to first one sugar free using xylitol and the second one I made gluten free using a rice flour mixture. This is a really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I added one more apple because I thought mine were on the small side but I almost wish I hadn't. Made it take longer to bake and it was almost too miost. Next time I make it I'll up the spice amounts at least by one-half. It had good flavor just not spiced enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This cake was DELICIOUS and moist and just wonderful! I even substituted ingredients to make it healthier and the spices just gave it this great kick and it still tasted so so so good! Maybe next time I'll try adding some lemon or orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Great base recipe. I used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c applesauce to cut down on the fat and 1 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar just to try something different. I doubled the cinnamon and added a teaspoon of ground clove and I didn't have any ginger so I omitted it. I also used walnuts instead of raisins because we don't like them and I used my food chopper to finely chop the apples because I didn't want big chunks (you couldn't see the apples but you could taste the flavor). I also added 2 teaspoons of baking powder because I wanted it to be fluffy. I baked in a 9 x 13 pan for 40 minutes and it came out great. It was very moist and delicious and this was my first time making a spice cake (my fiance asked for it for father's day). I topped with a vanilla cream cheese frosting. Another cake recipe to add to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States