Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I made this for my family for Christmas Eve. After reading other reviews, I decided to double the spices and replace 1/2 of the butter with apple sauce. Very good and will make this again. One thing I was a little confused about though - many reviewers referred to the "crust" - huh? Mine didn't come out with any notable "crust" on it - I did use a cooking spray instead of buttering the pan - am wondering if that made a difference. I was also tempted to add nuts to the recipe, but did not do so this time as my nephew is allergic. Will definitely make this again and try it with either walnuts or pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mill Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Wow! This was a great spice cake. I made it for a potluck with my friends and the 6 of us finished it in one night! I doubled all the spices and added about a tsp of cloves (I like a lot of spice!) This is easily made vegan too, I used egg replacer for the eggs, and for the butter I used 1/2 cup margarine and 1/2 applesauce, these changes probably cut out about 30 grams of fat or more! I used 2 russets, a mac and a christmas, choppped up small and left out the raisins. Made it the day before and I think this cake really gets better the next day. Didn't need icing, it was soooo moist!!! I did put the c. sugar on top to look like snow...Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I read the reviews and made the following changes: 1/2 cup each of white and dark brown sugar, and 1 cup of apple sauce. I creamed 1/2 cup butter with the two sugars first, then mixed in the apple sauce, following with the eggs and vanilla. I used 3 medium granny smith apples and was careful to chop them up quite small; about 1/4 inch across. I folded the uncooked apples into the batter after I had mixed the wet and dry ingredients together. The only spice I doubled was the cinnamon, but I think I'll double the allspice next time, too. I thought the cake could have stood a little more. Baked for 1 hour exactly in one of those newfangled soft silicone bundt pans, and it came out gorgeous. The apples were suspended nicely throughout the batter; cooked, but still with enough tang and texture to keep it interesting. We love sweets in this household, but not too sweet, so the reduced sugar was perfect, especially if you plan on adding a glaze or having ice cream with it. The cake also came out with a nice crust, despite the reduced sugar. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Wonderful! I followed another reviewer's suggestions and used 1/2 cup of brown suger and 1 cup of white sugar as well as using cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. I used 3 granny smith and 1 golden delicous apple (just happened to be what I had on hand). Turned out perfect - not too heavy, just moist and delicious. Even my husband who is not a dessert person enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
We really liked this cake, and my husband is not a cake person. I used a cream cheese frosting, and it complimented it well. There are a couple things about it that I would have to mention. There are almost too many apples in it. When put in the refrigerator overnight, the flavors melded beautifully, but the texture was a little mushy. Maybe it was the kind of apple I used...? I also baked it in a 9x13, rather than a tube pan. It still came out fine. All in all, a very good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETTHING111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I really loved this cake. It was moist and very spicy. I think this will be a recipe i'll use for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Made this cake several times for my friends, they loved it. I used Fuji apples and freshly grated nutmeg, produced a very moist, fragrant, delicious cake. My friends kept coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I liked the recipe, but I am still looking for a good frosting to put on it. It could use a tab pit more cinamon and all-spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but my cake turned out really hard. The only thing that I would recommend other people to do is to lessen the amount of sugar needed. It was extremely sweet, and I had only used 13/4 cups of the sugar suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I'm so glad I found this recipe. This recipe helped my terminally ill cancer friend going thru chemo. Everything tasted like chemicals EXCEPT she would eat a piece of this and then she was able to eat her other food. Feeding tube was then removed!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States