Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I just baked this today!! Turned out awesome!! My dad couldn't stop himself from getting a bite before it cooled down. I took the advice to only add one cup of sugar and that was sweet enough for me too!! i used applesauce instead of butter to make it less fattening, and it still turned out fine!! i also added low fat sour cream to make it more like a coffee cake and walnuts. whole fam loves it!! my mom wants to give half of it to te pastor.. thanks for sharing a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
yumm! I'm eating it right now and it's delicious.. tastes even better the day after it's made. A few changes I made: I added more cinnamon because I didn't have nutmeg nor all spice, I also reduced the sugar to one cup only.. but it's still really sweet. So I think one cup of sugar is plenty in this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I made this cake last night, following the instructions exactly. My hubby couldn't wait to try it. I asked him three times how he liked it.....his mouth was too full to answer as he couldn't stop eating it! I'm confused as to why some said it was 'oily' unless they are referring to the amount of butter. I wouldn't change a thing! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Delicious! I made it exactly as the recipe called for, and it was perfect! very moist and smells wonderful when baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Excellent recipe. Directions are clear and right on. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
I, too, made some changes but this is a terrific cake. I soaked my raisins in Courvoisier and then used the soaking liquid to mix with the baking soda. Instead of vanilla, I used a tablespoon more of Courvoisier and also a little bit of Vanilla Bean Paste, which I happen to keep around. I used Macoun apples, which look a lot like small MacIntoshes, and I used 4 of them. Macouns are terrific apples. I have tried numerous apple cakes and most were so-so. This is outstanding. Next time I will try cutting the sugar by 1/2c. Plain whipped cream is really nice as an accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
Very tasty even after a few substitutions and I left out the raisins. The cake was indeed moist, spicy and sweet as promised. First, I used one cup of whole wheat flour in place of one cup of all-purpose flour. Then I used one cup of egg substitute in place of the four eggs and finally I used one-half cup of "Smart Balance" with one-half cup of butter to replace the one cup of butter. The cake was sweet enough so I left off the confectioner's sugar too. Because I don't have a tube pan I used two round cake pans (9 inches) and made two cakes that turned out about one and one-half inches high and took about 30 minutes to cook completely. Jon and I finished off one cake in mere minutes! Yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
Delicious! I made muffins and they were incredibly moist. Wonderful for breakfast with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I made this today by the recipe except added some nuts. It was wonderful!!! This is one of teh best apple cakes I have ever tasted. I gave most of it to my friend because her family was visiting, but I am going to have to make another for ME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I'm a new 'baker' and I just found this receipe to be the best! it was easy and delicioius!!! Def will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States