Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I made this recipe exactly except I cut it in half to make a loaf. It is moist and delicious, it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Greco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My whole family loved this cake and it was gone in one day! I upped the apples and used 4 medium sized and made a crumbled topping with flour, butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar- It was fantastic! I also used a bunt pan instead- super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Terrific base cake for fruity variations! I substituted 1.3 C. agave nectar for the sugar, used half the butter, 1.5 t. baking soda and 2 T. lemon juice. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour- it was sweet and fragrant, and I cut my guilt in half but reducing the gycemic index a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is probably the best thing I ever made. I've made this now four times and it came out so delicious and moist every time. It was a hit with my co-workers and at home. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This had a great flavor! I also made a streussel to put on top and baked it in mini loaf pans. It was delicious. Nice and spicy and good apple flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I really wanted to like this recipe. It looked so good. I took the advice of most reviewers and reduced the amount of sugar. The cake didn't rise the way my other bundt cakes always do and I found it to be dry. All that fruit and this cake was still on the crumbly side. I consider myself to be an experienced baker and I was not impressed by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELKEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This buttery apple cake is certainly a new Fall favorite in our home! I have been searching for a spicy apple cake that does not depend on oil in the batter and this moist flavorful cake is the one. I did follow advice and grated 1/2 of the apples, chopping the rest, along with doubling the spices called for. I used a 13x9 inch pan but will use a bundt pan from now on. I added cream cheese frosting but this cake does not need any more, it stands well alone. The first crisp day in September signals a return to baking in our home and this delicious cake did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
It's far too much nutmeg, it's all you can taste. Otherwise, the cake came out well, it has a very nice texture. I substituted some brown sugar for 1/2 cup of the white, and I think it would be better as written, with all white sugar. I would say halve the nutmeg, and if you want it spicier, add some more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I made this with fresh pears (my guest was allergic to apples) and used both golden and dark raisins. I made muffins and sprinkled chopped walnuts and sugar on top prior to baking. I laso used 1/2c packed brown sugar and 1/2c white plus cut down on the margarine. Came out wonderfully, she asked for my recipe after one bite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This is the one! The best apple cake recipe I have ever tried. Not too sweet, not too tart, it's just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States