Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made this cake for my family and it was eaten in one day, I added cranberries and raisins, yummy! It has a dense texture like banana bread, excellent for breakfast with cream cheese, or as a dessert. Next time will add more walnuts as i love them, def going to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
LOVED this one! only change was to just use 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg for the seasonings and I also shredded the apples instead of leaving them in chunks--then topped with a whipped cream cheese frosting--everyone absolutely loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I loved this cake. Perfect fall treat. Moist, flavorful, delicious (especially with a cream cheese drizzle frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CasperATX
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Wow what a cake!! I took the advice and used 1/2c brown and 1c white sugar. I didn't have allspice so I used some pumpkin spice. I'm not sure why some think it's too spicy, I think it is very tasty!! I did chop my apples, but made them kinda small. Instead of vanilla in the cake, I used almond extract to give it a little nutty flavor, worked perfect. Great cake, great flavor...will definetly make this again! Check out my picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CasperATX
Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I'll definitely do this one again, I was 'helped' by my two youngest sons as well and it still turned out great, everyone came back for more. Thank you for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ddcmommy
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This turned out to be the best cake i've ever made! I am making it again right now, the second time in a week! Took it to a party and everybody went crazy over it. I made a cream cheese frosting that I drizzled over the top because I wanted it to be more of a dessert but will do powdered sugar this time I think. This ones going into permanent rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Made this recipe today, was looking for something different. I followed recipe for the most part, I did reduce sugar to cup and half, but everyones sweet tooth is different and I did half/half brown/white sugar, also used whole wheat/all purpose half and half. Shredded the apples, and didn't use butter at all, used apple sauce only...was hoping it wouldn't be too much apple...It was fine, husband and step-daughter loved it. I added walnuts, but that's my personal liking..would use this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe is my husband's favorite. It is very moist and I have substituted chopped dates for the raisins on occasion. I also left off the glaze and the cake was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe. I left off the glaze and it was perfect, not too sweet. I used a springform pan because I didn't have the fancy mold. I actually made this recipe to pair with a wine tasting due to the spices in this cake, and everyone devoured it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Turned out absolutely amazing! I substituted 1/2 the butter for 1/2 a cup of apple sauce, added 20 g of flour and topped it with chopped walnuts Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States