Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I'll definitely do this one again, I was 'helped' by my two youngest sons as well and it still turned out great, everyone came back for more. Thank you for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ddcmommy
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This turned out to be the best cake i've ever made! I am making it again right now, the second time in a week! Took it to a party and everybody went crazy over it. I made a cream cheese frosting that I drizzled over the top because I wanted it to be more of a dessert but will do powdered sugar this time I think. This ones going into permanent rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Made this recipe today, was looking for something different. I followed recipe for the most part, I did reduce sugar to cup and half, but everyones sweet tooth is different and I did half/half brown/white sugar, also used whole wheat/all purpose half and half. Shredded the apples, and didn't use butter at all, used apple sauce only...was hoping it wouldn't be too much apple...It was fine, husband and step-daughter loved it. I added walnuts, but that's my personal liking..would use this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe is my husband's favorite. It is very moist and I have substituted chopped dates for the raisins on occasion. I also left off the glaze and the cake was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe. I left off the glaze and it was perfect, not too sweet. I used a springform pan because I didn't have the fancy mold. I actually made this recipe to pair with a wine tasting due to the spices in this cake, and everyone devoured it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Turned out absolutely amazing! I substituted 1/2 the butter for 1/2 a cup of apple sauce, added 20 g of flour and topped it with chopped walnuts Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe and it was so moist and delicious....everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My favorite recipe so far at allrecipes! Some changes I've made: puree raisins w/1/4c.spiced applesause, added 1/4 C. wheat germ and 1/4 C. pecan meal after subtracting 1/4 C. flour to balance it out.Also-for those reviewers who said it fell apart, refrigerate cake for 36 hrs. to allow the spices to mellow and the texture to hold together better and it is magnificent! Also you can add 1/3 C. crushed pineapple to round out the spicey edge.Experiment with the recipe, it is forgiving and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made this for a coworkers birthday and everybody seemed to like it. Modified sugar to 1/2 cup brown, 1 1/2 white and butter to 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup applesauce, increased cinnamon & allspice to 2 teaspoons each. Baked in 9 x 13 pan for 40-45 minutes. Cooled and frosted with cream cheese frosting. Yummy, smelled delicious, very moist. Chop your apples very finely, or use a food processor. Thanks for a great recipe. Would make excellent muffins as the edges are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIC65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I wish I had made it in a Bundt pan, but I thought tube pan meant Angel Food pan. So it wasn't so pretty, but the taste was fantastic. I topped with a thin butter frosting and cut way back on the nutmeg since I don't like the flavor of it. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States