Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I've baked this cake a couple of times now and every time, none of it gets wasted which is great. I made a few changes to the recipe, omitting a cup of white sugar and replacing it with brown sugar which I think gave it a richer flavour. I also added at least 3x the amount of spices as I knew that just one teaspoon of each of the spices was not going to be enough. Despite adding a lot more spice, the cake had a mild flavour, but it was very pleasant. Next time I think I will add a fourth apple to the recipe as I love the texture of the apples after they are baked. All round, a pleasant cake, very moist and delicious. Will continue to bake it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Took to a family gathering today and it was a hit! Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Found this to be way too oily and not much flavour. More like a suet pudding, not what i expected at all. The texture was too soft and doughy. Will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Handler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This cake came out like a cracker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Noyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TigerLiliy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very tasty and moist. I omitted the raisins and baked it in two round pans than frosted with cream cheese frosting and candied pecans. Super delicious and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Very good. Not oily at all. Nuts would be good. I almost shredded a carrot the second time, just to experiment. But seriously, it was excellent just as it was. Will reduce sugar a bit, maybe the butter as suggested, just to feel less guilty when I eat it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This recipe makes a lovely moist bundt cake. I shredded my apples like a review suggested and it compliments the texture. The only reason I am not giving this recipe a full 5 stars is that I found the spices to be a bit underwhelming. This cake has a very mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
The flavors are terrific. I agree with previous reviewers that there is a bit too much butter. I would by a quarter or half. But the taste was yummy and everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Buttering the pan gives it a nice crisp edge. Added tons of apples, used applesauce for half the butter, halved the sugar. All Whole wheat flour. laid down walnuts, br sugar, cinnamon and butter in the bundt pan first fora nutty topping. thanks for the recipe! Everybody lovvvvvvvvvvvves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristianna J. Thorson-Sharma
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This smells so good coming out of the oven! I made a few little modifications, less sugar (1c.white, 1/2c. brown), I grated 2 of the apples and finely chopped the other. I also used a little less butter, mainly because it comes in 100 gram packs and I didn't want to open up 3 of them. (1c. equals about 225grams) Went a little crazy with the powered sugar. Made for my awesome knitting group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristianna J. Thorson-Sharma
Living In: New Delhi, Delhi, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States