Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
What a wonderful cake. I did make a few changes to the recipe. I used 1/2c brown sugar and 1c white sugar to cut down on the sweetness, and to give the spices more of a base to blend with. I also used cake flour instead of all-purpose. The cake flour lightens up the cake while still keeping it very moist. Use 1 cup + 2 tbl cake flour to 1 cup all purpose. I also add 2 teaspoons of apple liqueur along with the vanilla to give the apple flavor of the cake more of a boost. This is by far the best apple spice cake I have come across in a long time. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This is very tasty and presents well baked in a tube pan. The only thing I didn't like about it was that it was too oily and a bit too heavy in the nutmeg department. If you love spicey, this is the cake for you. The taste is wonderful, but I will make again using less oil and a little more cinnamon. I used Granny Smith apples which I shredded in my food processor. I believe shredded apples lend more of the apple flavor than coarsely chopped. Thanks for a great recipe, Kristin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I made this cake last night, following the instructions exactly. My hubby couldn't wait to try it. I asked him three times how he liked it.....his mouth was too full to answer as he couldn't stop eating it! I'm confused as to why some said it was 'oily' unless they are referring to the amount of butter. I wouldn't change a thing! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This has to be hands-down the best apple cake I have had. I served it at a family dinner and everyone took some home. I followed the advice of other reviewers and decreased the sugar to 1 cup - it was perfectly sweet enough. Also, I only used 1/2 cup of butter and substituted 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce. It was moist, spicy and delicious. Thank you - this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I needed to make a cake for my grandpa's birthday, and he happens to love spice cake so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. Instead of baking this in a tube pan, I baked it in a 9x13 pan for about 40 minutes. Instead of chopping the apples I grated them (leaving the skin on) to help the cake keep it's shape and not fall apart, and then frosted with a maple cream cheese frosting. The result was a super tasty, dense cake that was snapped up by everyone who was around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My whole family loved this cake and it was gone in one day! I upped the apples and used 4 medium sized and made a crumbled topping with flour, butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar- It was fantastic! I also used a bunt pan instead- super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Made this into loaves for our annual bake sale, they turned out beautifully. The cake is delicious and the crust the best part. I will be making this again, this is a keeper. I think the next batch I will add a few chopped nuts to. Mmmmmmmmm good... great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
It was AMAZING! Marvellous, godlike, absolutely delicious apple cake! I took everybody's advice and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of white, but kept the same amount of butter as it's said in the recipe. Then I didn't add either nutmeg or allspice to the batter. Used only some cinnamon and a little bit cloves. I must say that I actually don't fancy too much cakes with apples and raisins too much but this one came out so tasty and with such a wonderful smell that I couldn't help eating a piece ;-) Definitely will make this heavenly cake again! (I cooked half of the original yield. That was a huge mistake!! I should have better doubled the recipe =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Delicious! I made it exactly as the recipe called for, and it was perfect! very moist and smells wonderful when baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
This is undoubtedly the best apple cake recipe I have ever tried! Great for fall or any time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States