Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ChefJessie
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This cake was very tasty and sweet...especially the next day. This recipe is party guest favorite. It vanished without a trace within minutes. That's always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
5 stars all the way - delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a very very moist and delicious cake...especially on day 2 and 3 if it lasts that long! I added a little more cinnamon but otherwise kept to the recipe and had absolutley no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great, moist cake. Not as appley as I thought it would be, but still delicious. (I shredded 3 granny smith apples). I did as one previous cook recommended and soak the raisins in rum, which added a nice bite. Definitely will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I found this cake heavy on the eggs, and little on the spice and apple. Perhaps if you lessen the eggs, add more spice, and do the apples in a food processor first, to get more apple favor into it. All in all, sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This cake was awesome! I followed the recipe to a "T" except for shredding the apples instead of chopping them and it was just fabulous. I didn't find it to be too oily or too sweet. The spices were just right. Even my hubby loved it and he isn't a big dessert eater! Next time I make it I may add nuts and maybe soak the raisins in rum instead of water.. :-) yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylviacooks
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Delicious cake!! I didn't have any allspice, so I used ground clover instead (only two dashes since it has such an overpowering flavor). I even made a sauce to drizzle on top thinking the cake might not be moist, but it turned out I didn't need it and wasted the sauce. Only problem was getting the cake out of the pan. Next time I will pour a little bit of plain batter in first and then add all the fruit since it was the raisins that kept the cake from coming out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a very yummy spicey cake, I basically followed the recipe, except I omitted the raisins since I did not have any. Cake was flavorful and moist without them. I also made in a bundt cake pan and sprinkled Paula Deen's Cinnamon Sugar (grinder) on the top of the batter before baking to add a layer of crunch to the cake. Also, used 1/2 butter, 1/2 margarine and use 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup organic granulated sugar that has more molasses to it but not quite brown sugar. i also omitted dusting cake with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I thought this could have been better. It's very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Very, very good. I chopped the apples pretty small and omitted the raisins. The flavor and consistency were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States