Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins, and used 1 c of whole wheat flour plus 1 c of all purpose flour. I used three Empire apples. I made 24 muffins, cooking for about 30 minutes at 350. Though the muffins weren't very pretty they tasted very good. Next time, I will add another teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Magnificient Autumn cake!! I baked this for my birthday tea party and it was a definite success. Easy to make. And it is just the essense of what an Autumn cake should be - warm, spicy, with apples and full of comfort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taasinge, Syddanmark, Denmark
Living In: Nuuk, Kitaa, Greenland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I was browsing online to find a treat to bring into work. With the rave reviews this recipe has received, how could I not try it? It's everything the reviews say it is! It went over very well... and quickly. The only changes I made were adding 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. I didn't have raisins so I chopped up some Citrus Essence Prunes and added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. The Citrus Essence (orange flavored) Prunes added a really nice touch to the cake and people love the tang they gave. I used mounded teaspoons of spices, but agree that it could use a little more. I also shredded my apples (Cortland Apples) on the largest setting instead of chopping them. I'm not a baked apple person but I enjoyed the cake a lot myself! I had to join All Recipes just so I could rate and review this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
THIS CAKE GOT RAVE REVIEWS! I HAD TO MAKE IT TWO DAYS IN A ROW, SO THE SECOND DAY I PUT NUTS IN IT. THAT WAS GREAT TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I needed to make a cake for my grandpa's birthday, and he happens to love spice cake so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. Instead of baking this in a tube pan, I baked it in a 9x13 pan for about 40 minutes. Instead of chopping the apples I grated them (leaving the skin on) to help the cake keep it's shape and not fall apart, and then frosted with a maple cream cheese frosting. The result was a super tasty, dense cake that was snapped up by everyone who was around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
It was AMAZING! Marvellous, godlike, absolutely delicious apple cake! I took everybody's advice and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of white, but kept the same amount of butter as it's said in the recipe. Then I didn't add either nutmeg or allspice to the batter. Used only some cinnamon and a little bit cloves. I must say that I actually don't fancy too much cakes with apples and raisins too much but this one came out so tasty and with such a wonderful smell that I couldn't help eating a piece ;-) Definitely will make this heavenly cake again! (I cooked half of the original yield. That was a huge mistake!! I should have better doubled the recipe =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I loved this cake. The only changes I made were to grate half of the apples, chop the other half, sub currants soaked in cognac for the raisins, and used 1 tablespoon cognac instead of water. This cake is even better as it ages. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Mehabird
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I made this for my family for Christmas Eve. After reading other reviews, I decided to double the spices and replace 1/2 of the butter with apple sauce. Very good and will make this again. One thing I was a little confused about though - many reviewers referred to the "crust" - huh? Mine didn't come out with any notable "crust" on it - I did use a cooking spray instead of buttering the pan - am wondering if that made a difference. I was also tempted to add nuts to the recipe, but did not do so this time as my nephew is allergic. Will definitely make this again and try it with either walnuts or pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mill Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Wow! This was a great spice cake. I made it for a potluck with my friends and the 6 of us finished it in one night! I doubled all the spices and added about a tsp of cloves (I like a lot of spice!) This is easily made vegan too, I used egg replacer for the eggs, and for the butter I used 1/2 cup margarine and 1/2 applesauce, these changes probably cut out about 30 grams of fat or more! I used 2 russets, a mac and a christmas, choppped up small and left out the raisins. Made it the day before and I think this cake really gets better the next day. Didn't need icing, it was soooo moist!!! I did put the c. sugar on top to look like snow...Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States