Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
My daughter went apple picking and I'm not crazy about apple pie so I was looking for something different. This was an awesome recipe. I especially loved the mix of spices and that you could taste them all. It was more like a spice cake with apples than an apple cake with spices. I did lighten it up as a previous reviewer did and used 1/2 & 1/2 on the AP/WW flours and applesauce/butter. I made 2 loafs instead of a bundt and added walnuts to one of the loafs. It was definitely better with the walnuts. Next time I want to use egg substitute instead of 4 whole eggs as I'm watching my cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I had some problems with it sticking to the pan, but it did taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I made this recipe exactly except I cut it in half to make a loaf. It is moist and delicious, it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Greco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My whole family loved this cake and it was gone in one day! I upped the apples and used 4 medium sized and made a crumbled topping with flour, butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar- It was fantastic! I also used a bunt pan instead- super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Terrific base cake for fruity variations! I substituted 1.3 C. agave nectar for the sugar, used half the butter, 1.5 t. baking soda and 2 T. lemon juice. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour- it was sweet and fragrant, and I cut my guilt in half but reducing the gycemic index a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is probably the best thing I ever made. I've made this now four times and it came out so delicious and moist every time. It was a hit with my co-workers and at home. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This had a great flavor! I also made a streussel to put on top and baked it in mini loaf pans. It was delicious. Nice and spicy and good apple flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I really wanted to like this recipe. It looked so good. I took the advice of most reviewers and reduced the amount of sugar. The cake didn't rise the way my other bundt cakes always do and I found it to be dry. All that fruit and this cake was still on the crumbly side. I consider myself to be an experienced baker and I was not impressed by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELKEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This buttery apple cake is certainly a new Fall favorite in our home! I have been searching for a spicy apple cake that does not depend on oil in the batter and this moist flavorful cake is the one. I did follow advice and grated 1/2 of the apples, chopping the rest, along with doubling the spices called for. I used a 13x9 inch pan but will use a bundt pan from now on. I added cream cheese frosting but this cake does not need any more, it stands well alone. The first crisp day in September signals a return to baking in our home and this delicious cake did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
It's far too much nutmeg, it's all you can taste. Otherwise, the cake came out well, it has a very nice texture. I substituted some brown sugar for 1/2 cup of the white, and I think it would be better as written, with all white sugar. I would say halve the nutmeg, and if you want it spicier, add some more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States