Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This cake is wonderful. I made it in a angel food cake pan and the only changes I made was that I used 1/2 cup of light brown sugar and 1 & 1/2 cup white sugar. I also made a cream cheese frosting and added around a TB of maple syrup to it. I also took another person's suggestion and used my food processor to shred the apples. It doesn't really shred but it cuts them up really fine, then I put them in a colander and kind of used my hands to squeeze out a lot of the excess juice. This tip really saves a lot of time and mess. This cake is really moist and delicious. I will certainly make it again and I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The cake was so good my Chocolate Lab helped herself to a entire cake. Luckily, I made more than one. *** I DID NOT use raisins, ADDED CLOVE and DID NOT cook it a hour. HUGE HIT IN MY WORLD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Becker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Isn't funny how some people say "too spicy" and some say "not spicy enough"? I'm in the not spicy enough camp. I doubled the cinnamon but was afraid to do too much different on a first try. This was an extremely yummy cake, very moist. I added toasted walnuts because I think everything's better with nuts! (don't understand the "greasy" comment by one reviewer.) I used canned cream cheese icing. Next time I will double all the spices and perhaps make a caramel icing from scratch. Thanks for a really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoughGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is a simple, quick and easy to make. The outside crust is great. I used coconut oil instead of butter and only about 3/4 cup, I do this only because I try to use less butter in everything. I also added chopped pecans, again because I use nuts whenever possible. I will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by upper valley
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Excellent?? did use 1 c of sugar and 1 c of brwn sgr. Also used cranraisins. Did as a bundt cake. Moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent! I chopped the apples small and used another reviewer's suggestion of substituting half of the butter with applesauce. I made mini bundt cakes (baked for 15 minutes) instead of one large one. Will definitely make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made this recipe this past weekend and loved it!! Much easier to make than I suspected it would be, and very, very tasty! I expected it to be a bit dry, but it was very moist and has maintained well in the fridge since I made it. The powdered sugar on top does add something to the overall flavor, but could be left off if you wanted to lower the sugar content. I suspected that the powdered sugar would get "gummy" after some time in the fridge, so I choose to sprinkle each individual serving as I go. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I don't know, maybe I overcooked it (only had it in for 50 minutes), but I though it was kind of dry. Maybe cause I used tub non dairy margarine instead of real butter, a little harder to measure. Maybe I will try some frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe was outstanding! Truly a delightful find. I had apples that needed to be used, and this was the answer. Our family is gluten-free, so I used gluten-free all-purpose flour and added 1 tsp. xanthan gum. Used 4 apples shredded in the food processor. Perfect in every way! Thank you for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Its very tasty recipe. Everyone love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maahin Sohail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States