Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These were to die for straight out of the oven! I did take suggestions and replaced half butter for applesauce, doubled the cinnamon, and used 1. white sugar, 1/2 c. brown sugar. Made 2 dozen muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was excellent! I made it for my Dads birthday and topped with Allspice frosting. For this recipe, I added 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup butter shortening, cut flour to include 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. Because of my Dad's need to reduce sugar, I used Splenda 1/2 & 1/2 baking sugar. Cake was moist and nutty even with the addition of whole wheat. I think next time I make this, I will also add about 1/2 cup of apple sauce to make it a little more moist, the whole wheat makes it probably a little dryer than it should be. Excellent cake, and I will definatley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I LOVE THIS CAKE! I love the original recipe or to make it a little healthier I do just 1 cup of sugar and trade apple sauce for the butter. I even have added blueberries to the mix. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I wanted to make an apple cake for breakfast in the morning, and stumbled upon this recipe. I can't believe how good it is! I had to make some minor alterations as per our family's taste buds, but no big deal, it still came out wonderful! I only used 1 cup of white sugar, that's it, and for us, it was still more than sweet enough. Next time, I'll use 1/2 cup white + 1/2 brown, and see the difference. Also, I used 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, a pinch of cloves (and I do mean pinch), and approx 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Again, for us, this was perfect! I had spartan apples on hand, and I peeled and finely chopped about 4 of them, and they were delicious in the cake. I used a 9x13 pan, generously greased, and baked it for exactly 40 min at 350. Thank you Kristin for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Archangel
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Next time I make this particular cake, I'll use two cake tins and make it as a layer cake, as my Bundt form was a little small for it. I added a caramel/cinnamon glaze over a fresh fruit centre. A very pretty cake, and extremely moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Archangel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I love this cake it is the best cake everyone in my house loves this cake I did top it with home made cream cheese frosting though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This cake is delicious! I made a few adjustments which worked very well. I substituted a 1/2 cup of brown sugar for white as suggested, and I also substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for butter to reduce the fat a little. I didn't have any raisins so I used walnuts instead which added a nice crunch. I would suggest cutting the nutmeg as it is a very dominant flavor in the cake. I baked it for 50 minutes in a bundt pan and it turned out perfect. It's especially delicious with a little cream cheese spread on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I liked this cake but I, personally, like a bit more spice in my spice cake. I used red delicious apples...never again! Just lacked that apple flavor I was looking for. The recipes calls for 3 apples and a novice baker would grab any type of apple. I used the red delicious because that is what had and they needed to be used up. I also used a 9 x 13 inch pan for 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My Husband made this cake. We all had a piece-it was great! His Mother came over after dinner-she didn't want any dinner but ate the rest of the cake! There was 1/2 of a cake there! Husband knows where his bread is buttered! He made me another cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azure
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This cake turned out amazing! It was so moist and delicious and really easy to make, the hardest part was peeling ans slicing the apples. I skipped the raisins and confectioners sugar and baked it in a regular rectangular pan and it still came out so delicious. This is my go to cake recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States