Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I added one more apple because I thought mine were on the small side but I almost wish I hadn't. Made it take longer to bake and it was almost too miost. Next time I make it I'll up the spice amounts at least by one-half. It had good flavor just not spiced enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This cake was DELICIOUS and moist and just wonderful! I even substituted ingredients to make it healthier and the spices just gave it this great kick and it still tasted so so so good! Maybe next time I'll try adding some lemon or orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Great base recipe. I used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c applesauce to cut down on the fat and 1 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar just to try something different. I doubled the cinnamon and added a teaspoon of ground clove and I didn't have any ginger so I omitted it. I also used walnuts instead of raisins because we don't like them and I used my food chopper to finely chop the apples because I didn't want big chunks (you couldn't see the apples but you could taste the flavor). I also added 2 teaspoons of baking powder because I wanted it to be fluffy. I baked in a 9 x 13 pan for 40 minutes and it came out great. It was very moist and delicious and this was my first time making a spice cake (my fiance asked for it for father's day). I topped with a vanilla cream cheese frosting. Another cake recipe to add to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the raisins. The wonderful aroma while it was baking was almost too much to handle - it smelled oh-so-good. The cake is moist and it tastes wonderful. I have an apple tree and need to use up lots of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I normally don't like to review a recipe until I can complete it almost exactly but I was super eager to make this cake and I had just ran out of butter and oil so I subbed an entire cup of applesauce instead. I also accidentally added an extra apple and used rum soaked raisins instead of water soaked. I also used a reviewer's advice and subbed half the sugar for brown sugar. My end result? A SUPER moist cake that is more like a bread pudding than an actual cake but the taste is out of this world! I noticed giant apple chunks in some of the photos but I would advise against that, I say pieces slightly bigger than peas will yield the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xena91388

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Sooo good! This was a hit at the potluck at work, and my hubby loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indigo Flare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe. Big hit at work. Made a few small changes: added 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and cut butter to 2/3 cup; replaced 1 cup of the sugar with 3/4 cup brown sugar; cut allspice to 1/2 tsp and added a pinch of cloves; grated the apples in the food pro; made in 9x13 pan and baked 40 minutes; iced with maple cream cheese frosting. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent! I have found it works well to grate the apple on a coarse box grater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Good tasting and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this for Christmas for my family and we all loved it. 2 things I did differently: (1) I soaked raisins in 1T Rum instead of just in water. (2) I cored and sliced the apples thinly and let it sit in the lemon juice from 1 whole lemon, 2 teaspoonfuls of sugar, dash of salt and some powdered cinnamon in a ziploc bag while I was working on the rest of the ingredients. The cake came out really good. Thank you, Krissyp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michimama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States