Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
My daughter went apple picking and I'm not crazy about apple pie so I was looking for something different. This was an awesome recipe. I especially loved the mix of spices and that you could taste them all. It was more like a spice cake with apples than an apple cake with spices. I did lighten it up as a previous reviewer did and used 1/2 & 1/2 on the AP/WW flours and applesauce/butter. I made 2 loafs instead of a bundt and added walnuts to one of the loafs. It was definitely better with the walnuts. Next time I want to use egg substitute instead of 4 whole eggs as I'm watching my cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I had some problems with it sticking to the pan, but it did taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I made this recipe exactly except I cut it in half to make a loaf. It is moist and delicious, it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Greco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My whole family loved this cake and it was gone in one day! I upped the apples and used 4 medium sized and made a crumbled topping with flour, butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar- It was fantastic! I also used a bunt pan instead- super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Terrific base cake for fruity variations! I substituted 1.3 C. agave nectar for the sugar, used half the butter, 1.5 t. baking soda and 2 T. lemon juice. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour- it was sweet and fragrant, and I cut my guilt in half but reducing the gycemic index a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is probably the best thing I ever made. I've made this now four times and it came out so delicious and moist every time. It was a hit with my co-workers and at home. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This had a great flavor! I also made a streussel to put on top and baked it in mini loaf pans. It was delicious. Nice and spicy and good apple flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I really wanted to like this recipe. It looked so good. I took the advice of most reviewers and reduced the amount of sugar. The cake didn't rise the way my other bundt cakes always do and I found it to be dry. All that fruit and this cake was still on the crumbly side. I consider myself to be an experienced baker and I was not impressed by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELKEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This buttery apple cake is certainly a new Fall favorite in our home! I have been searching for a spicy apple cake that does not depend on oil in the batter and this moist flavorful cake is the one. I did follow advice and grated 1/2 of the apples, chopping the rest, along with doubling the spices called for. I used a 13x9 inch pan but will use a bundt pan from now on. I added cream cheese frosting but this cake does not need any more, it stands well alone. The first crisp day in September signals a return to baking in our home and this delicious cake did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
It's far too much nutmeg, it's all you can taste. Otherwise, the cake came out well, it has a very nice texture. I substituted some brown sugar for 1/2 cup of the white, and I think it would be better as written, with all white sugar. I would say halve the nutmeg, and if you want it spicier, add some more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States