Apple Sour Cream Streusel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this in a hurry for a 'dessert supper' for a friend. I used a bundt cake pan and and added butter flavoring, as well as used canned blanched (not cooked) and chopped apples, only 2 1/4 cups of flour, a cup and a half of sour cream, and left out the apple jelly. It was excellent; a little crumbly on the surface like a good streusel cake should be, but not too heavy. I will make this again - it will make a good breakfast pastry too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaches

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cody, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Now, I’m not too sure about the scientifics of baking… I read the couple of reviews that mentioned the cake having been dry. The first time I made this cake, I followed the recipe exactly, and the cake came out -- delicious. I considered it to be more… “heavy” than “dry.” The second time, there were a lot of differences: I was a bit reckless. I forgot the salt and the jelly, and I dumped all the ingredients into one bowl and stirred really hard. I was using two 8x8 inch pans, so I increased the recipe (in my head) by ¼ and went with the flow. I used three apples. (As I said, I forgot the jelly entirely. Oops.) -- The 8x8 pans were so shallow that the lack of jelly -- was no problem at all. In addition to my modifications, in order to make it “less dry” -- I added about… a ¼ cup of milk. Recklessness, indeed! I wasn’t sure exactly how it would come out… or if that was breaking an age old baking rule -- etc etc. The results. Were. Amazing. I have never eaten a better cake. I think I am accidentally going to have eaten one entire 8x8 pan of this cake by the time tomorrow is over. My grandmother, aunt, & three cousins loved it as well. So yes, as a suggestion: I would suggest -- adding ¼ cup milk. There were about three pieces that were eaten before the cake had a chance to sit -- for even 10 minutes, and this might seem obvious, but the texture was a thousand times better a few hours later. (I’m eating a huge piece, taking bites inbetween sentences. Mmm!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This coffee cake is a fabulous addition to any brunch or breakfast. I make this frequently and it is always requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2000
This is a great dessert cake, I have yet to have any leftovers after we have friends over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
This cake was tasty but if I were going to make it again, I would chop the apples, mix them with 1/2 the streusel, and swirl them throughout the cake. I think that would improve the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
This recipe is good, but I read the other reviews before making it and so I only used two cups of flour rather than three. I also chopped half the apples and mixed it in with the batter and then put the other half on top. With those changes, the cake was really moist and turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
the only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I too ommitted one of the cups of flour, using only 2. PERFECT that way! MMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARAJOY
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
We should have read the reviews before making this cake, it is SO dry. It did Not satisfy my craving for apple streusel cake. We didn't have enough sour cream, so i added mayo & buttermilk to make the 1 cup needed. We didn't have apples or apple jelly, so we added a 20 oz can of apple pie filling. That turned out to be the best part of the cake. We did not add walnuts, as we have allergies. After reading the reviews, Maybe we will try making this cake again someday ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
If you want to choke to death, try this cake. It was so dry, it was unbelievable. We have a fox that frequents our yard and as you know, foxes will eat just about anything. We watched him eat it ...it looked like we had fed him a cup of peanut butter...his mouth was nearly stuck shut! Don't make this CAKE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this dessert for Thanksgiving, and was really disappointed with how dry and lack of sweet taste. I did take the suggestions only using 2 cups of flour, adding the apples to the batter. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States