Apple Snow Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
When I first read this recipe I thought - it's just apple sauce and since I'm not really a fan was about to move on when I realized it was fat free and I've been meaning to try substituting apple sauce in some recipies, so why not give it a try. Well, it was delicious and gone in one meal. I'm making it again today - to try in other things. I cut way back on the sugar as my apples(Cortlands) were fairly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
We put our apple snow over vanilla ice cream. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Yum! A very decent applesauce (good spices, could use nutmeg) and the egg white makes for a nice fluffy base. I let this cool a long time before serving so that the flavours could mix, and the apples took the whole 30 minutes to cook. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I di this recipe a little differently. I only cooked the apples for 15 minutes then added the sugar and spices. Instead of using an egg white I used 1 Tbs meringue powder whipped with 1 Tbs. water (or milk). The apples were still chunky and I served them over french toast. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This is great! You can also make it with just original, premade applesauce and skip the sugar. So delicious, I made it twice in the past 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Really nicely spiced. I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup and thought it was still too sweet, so I think I'll cut sugar down to 1/4 cup next time. No need for egg white or meringue powder - it's great without it. Delicious straight up or as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Half the sugar as previously advised was plenty. The apples were ok, but the egg white was just more of the same texture. It needs something oaty or crunchy or something. Since raw egg whites scare me anyway I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I use 1 egg white, 1 cup sugar, 1 apple (peeled, cored and grated); beat egg white and sugar until stiff; fold in grated apple, mixing well; DELICIOUS served over a slice of Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake, or any chocolate cake! Very old recipe, probably more than 50 years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Used already prepared store bought apple blueberry sauce so all I had to do was whip egg white and fold together. Of course - the blueberries being so dark this was not really snowy looking-but was delicious mixed with a crisp topping.(think apple crisp) and with whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I left out the water and cooked the apples in the microwave. I also added nutmeg.My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States