Apple Snack Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wonderful snack food. I cut back on the sugar by 1/4 primarily because my apples were ripe, but I suspect you could anyway. In Canada we don't have self rising flour, add 1 1/4 tsp baking power for each cup of flour. I also added a light dusting of icing sugar after baked for appeal only. This is an instant favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I added a little more apple (personal preference) but then had to add a little water at the end to thin it out because I thought I was going to break my spoon in half trying to stir it! I also poured an entire bag of butterscotch chips over the top so you can some with every bite! SOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwhhScoob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Vermont, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Delicious recipe! I substituted chopped fresh pears because I needed to use them. I also decreased sugar to 1 3/4 cups, added 1 tsp vanilla, decreased oil to 1/2 cup, and added a snack size serving of cinnamon applesauce. The men in my house wouldn't stop eating it! Took some to work and had great reviews too...and my house smelled wonderful for hours because of the butterscotch. Will definitely make this again...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
these were great- very moist! i used1/2 cup of brown sugar &1 cup white.will make again-soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Made these this morning. I didn't read all the reviews otherwise I would of cut the sugar as well as I find these way to sweet. I didn't add the nuts as I don't like nuts in desserts but next time I will cut the sugar and use toffee bits in place of the butterscotch chips but overall its a great recipe and my hard to please significant other loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious!!! These were very popular around here. The only change I made was to make my own self-rising flour using flour and baking powder. These were moist and bursting with apples. The walnuts and butterscotch added a nice crunch and depth of flavor. Will make again and again during apple season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I really wasn't expecting to like these as much as I did. Very good, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I had to use chocolate chips because I had no butterscotch... it was great anyway. I followed another reviewer's recipe for using AP flour with baking powder. Worked great. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by aimnichole
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I make a version of this recipe that uses 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour instead of self-rising. 3 3/4 tsp of baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp of salt is also added. I leave the nuts out since neither my husband or I care for them, but they still taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimnichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Amazing! Took this to a potluck and it disappeared in minutes. The butterscotch chips add a great flavor and makes the house smell so good while it's baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States