Apple Slump Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
These turned out great will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackwidow7293

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I love this recipe. It reminds of my childhood. My mom made something very similar except it was baked in the oven without the lid. The dough had a lilttle shortening in it too. The sauce was almost the same except she added a little splash of vanilla, lemon extract and vinegar! The recipe card I have doesn't list the amounts and I think I like it alot better with the lemon. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is a really terrific dessert, and the nutmeg sauce really adds to the flavor. I have been looking for a recipe for NUTMEG SAUCE for close to 45 years. My mother and grandmother used to make it for all of the apple dishes that they prepared. My mother passed in 1958, and my grandmother in 1960. With them passed the recipe. I understand that this was Louisa May Alcott's favorite dessert. I know it's one of mine. GaysloveJesus2 Richmond, VA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Fast and simple and delicious. For the complainers, if you don't like nutmeg, why would you make a sauce with it?? This was a wondful warm and quick dessert. Great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I used frozen apples. It worked like a charm. I didn't make the nutmeg sauce. We were satisfied with the results. It served the purpose of being a sweet dessert which is what I wanted, and it was quicker than a cobbler for me. I plan to make it again. It didn't take me 1 1/2 hours to make this like the recipe said. It probably took about 35 minutes total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was really good for what I had on hand. I had apples but no oats or pie crust (don't make my own) or tapioca. I added a dash of cinnamon, sugar and nutmeg to the batter and I mixed the apples into the batter. Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Otstanding. We used pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg (personal preference), and we weren't disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I tried this recipe tonight with a few revisions. Instead of making the dumplings, I cut refrigerator biscuits into quarters, and cooked it for 20 minutes instead of 30. We don't care for so much nutmeg, so I substituted mostly cinnamon, with a bit of nutmeg in the sauce. It was delicious! Perfect with a scoop of ice cream. It was plenty sweet without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
not a hit at our house. I didn't like the strong flavor of the nutmeg sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I don't know about this recipe.... The only reason I gave it any stars was because It didn't taste bad. If you decide to make this make sure you make it in a large pot with a very tight fitting lid... I didn't and the liquid boiled over through the lid and made a horrible mess on my stove top. I didn't make the nutmeg sauce because it was very liquidy already.... basically what I got was a liquidy apple mush with dumpling things inside. I wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States