Apple Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
Really good. Although maybe a little too sweet if the apples used are sweet ones to begin with. Basically a flat apple pie, which is nice because you get more crust this way. (And the crust is always the best part of pie anyway, isn't it?) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very goo, brought to a meeting and they thought it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly M Kracht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgerton, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Way too much sugar! I cut down the sugar to about 3/4 cup and it was plenty. Next time I will also make the dough 1/2 of the recipe at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I had a problem rolling the dough to fit jelly roll pan but made it work. Being from the north we are familiar with apple slices unlike down here in FL. I will give it another try. The slices were wonderful, 1 piece left for husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My Aunt Margaret has made this recipe for years. It is like apple pie, but the crust is less flaky. A confectioner's sugar glaze is a perfect foli for this, even better if you add a bit of lemon juice to the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Good concept, but way too sweet recipe. I cut it to two cups of sugar but it was still way too sweet. It's all getting eaten but it's way too sweet. WAY TOO SWEET! I've done the crust as is and it's good. This time I did it with 1/2 and 1/2 whole wheat and apf...the 1/2 whole wheat turned out nice but not as light....but it was a bit more nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHISPAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
After I served this classic dish,my son proclaimed me best cook ever! Thanks, for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was my first time to make this and I loved it. I cut the sugar to 2 cups, based on the reviews I read and I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white, giving this desert nice caramel flavour. I also cut the cinnamon to 2 tsp, and found that to very nice too. I did not ice mine it was very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These bars a really good...I got the recipe over 30 years ago from a friend. My recipe though only has 1 1/4 c. Sugar and a few drops of fresh lemon juice on the apple slices. Instead of flour sprinkled over apples, mine has 1 1/2 c. Corn flakes or rice crispies, then the top crust over that. While it's still hot drizzle with frosting made from 1 c. Icing sugar and enough vanilla and water to make a nice drizzle. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States