Apple Slab Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
Apple Slab Pie it was incredibly easy to make, bigger than your average pie, and was absolutely delicious. If you like to make things that are easy to prepare try this recipe. I know for sure that I will be baking this pie over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I am just learning how to cook and this is the first homemade anything I have EVER made! It was a huge hit with everyone! It is easy to make, I definetly recommend this recipe to all! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I have to admit I was pretty skeptical as I was making this recipe. I baked it in a 10x15 cookie sheet and was worried that the whole thing would overflow and make a huge mess. BUT...it turned out great. I've never made my own crust before and this was super easy, and I used apples from my backyard. I don't know if I would call it a pie, so much as an apple pie "square", but once it has cooled it cuts up and serves easily and tastes great! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
WONDERFUL! Needed a quick dessert with apples, and tried this. Everyone gave great compliments. Def a keeper for anytime, and makes a great fall dessert on a chilly night with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top! I used a different pie crust recipe because I do not like a "roll" pie crust, so I used the "NO ROLL PIE CRUST I" from this website, you just press the crust into the pan with your hand, so much easier and very crisp and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Hint: Don't skimp on the butter and brown sugar. I also added some nutmeg and cloves, but that's just because I'm not too fond of the "just cinnamon" taste. I also recommend leaving out the 3/4 cup sugar in the apples and adding (about) a tablespoon of tapioca starch in. Otherwise a great recipe: would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
great recipe! I doubled the recipe, and put it into 3 8x12 aluminum pans. I froze two, beore cooking and will pull them out for company. The other one I baked and it came out perfect. I also cut the sugar to 1 cup, and added instant oatmeal to the topping mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Too sweet. Next time, use less sugar and sprinkle it over apples right before baking. Apples got too syrupy while making crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
My family loved it. I think I will use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I used half brown sugar in the filling and added a little nutmeg and clove. I left the crust soft enough to press it into the pan rather than rolling it out. Turned out very nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Took this to a church picnic and everyone wanted to know who made it.I was alittle gun shy of the crust because it was so moist when I rolled it out but it came out in the end. This for me is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States